The Thunder Keeper (Wind River Reservation Series #7)

The Thunder Keeper (Wind River Reservation Series #7)

4.4 15
by Margaret Coel
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The apparent suicide of a young Arapaho on sacred ground shocks the populace of the Wind River Reservation. But strange events following the death lead Vicky Holden and Father John O'Malley to suspect foul play.

Overview

The apparent suicide of a young Arapaho on sacred ground shocks the populace of the Wind River Reservation. But strange events following the death lead Vicky Holden and Father John O'Malley to suspect foul play.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Coel weaves compelling stories that reinforce the difficulties that young Indians experience fitting into society on and off the reservation." —Denver Post

"Will please her legions of fans." —Rocky Mountain News

bn.com
Convinced that a young Arapaho's suicide and a fatal hit-and-run accident are really murders, attorney Vicky Holden and Father John O'Malley put their heads together to find out what's on the reservation that someone is willing to kill for...
Publishers Weekly
In her seventh mystery set among the Arapahos of Wyoming's Wind River Reservation featuring her twin sleuths, Father John O'Malley (on the rez) and Arapaho lawyer Vicky Holden (temporarily transplanted to Denver), Coel gets the atmosphere just right. Every physical detail of the "vision quest" that a desperate young man named Duncan Grover undertakes on a cliff above Bear Lake seems perfect, while the challenges of Vicky's new life as a high-profile attorney are equally sharp. But the actual story here is the problem: it seems to be made up of recycled plot elements from several other recent Western mysteries. Grover's murder, made to look like a suicide, and only uncovered when Father John hears the details in a confession; the heavy-breathing corporate villains seeking to exploit the Native Americans and plunder their riches (not oil or gold this time, but diamonds); the insensitive white cops who just don't get it surely we've covered this ground before. Too bad, because when Coel writes about Father John's tricky relationship with Vicky (echoed in a lawsuit filed by a frustrated woman against his new assistant), or Vicky's edgy moments with the husband and children she left behind, she is on original and interesting ground. The author's previous books have been justly praised by the likes of Tony Hillerman, but an overly familiar plot this time out could lead to bad word-of-mouth and a falling off in sales. (Sept. 4) Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425185780
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
08/28/2002
Series:
Wind River Reservation Series, #7
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
197,664
Product dimensions:
4.34(w) x 6.78(h) x 0.69(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
"Coel weaves compelling stories that reinforce the difficulties that young Indians experience fitting into society on and off the reservation." —Denver Post

"Will please her legions of fans." —Rocky Mountain News

Meet the Author

Margaret Coel is the New York Times bestselling, award-winning author of The Thunder Keeper, The Spirit Woman, The Lost Bird, The Story Teller, The Dream Stalker, The Ghost Walker, The Eagle Catcher, and several works of nonfiction. She has also authored many articles on the people and places of the American West. Her work has won national and regional awards. Her first John O'Malley mystery, The Eagle Catcher, was a national bestseller, garnering excellent reviews from the Denver Post, Tony Hillerman, Jean Hager, Loren D. Estleman, Stephen White, Earlene Fowler, Ann Ripley and other top writers in the field. A native of Colorado, she resides in Boulder.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Thunder Keeper (Wind River Reservation Series #7) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ThunderClan territory only. No cat from Wind, River, and ShadowClan can cross or else they will be tresspassing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who wants to fight? #L
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Vicky Holden loves the land of the Arapahos, the Wind River Reservation in central Wyoming, but she still leaves her home to take a job in Denver. The attorney needs to get away from the Jesuit priest Father O¿Malley because they both have feelings for one other that are inappropriate. She also has to get away from her ex-husband, who wants to reconcile, but he keeps falling off the wagon and he is a mean drunk. In Denver, Vicky currently works on a mineral rights case on behalf of the Navaho Nation. However, she receives a call from Vince Lewis, a vice president of Balder Industries, famous for their diamond minding operations. He tells her that he has information she needs to know involving the Wind River Reservation, but before they meet a hit and run driver kills Vince.

Back on the reservation, Father John hears the confession of a man who says his partner killed a man in a place sacred to the Arapaho. The police rule the man¿s death a suicide but Father John knows somebody killed him and there will be more deaths if the person isn¿t stopped. Vicky and Father John are coming at the same problem from different angles, both of them putting their lives in jeopardy.

Fans of Aimee and David Thurlo and Tony Hillerman will definitely enjoy this fast paced mystery starring two likable, believable and colorful protagonists. The heroine is a role model for women everywhere and the hero not only understands the underlying concepts of justice, he abides by them in his life. THE THUNDER KEEPER by Margaret Coel is a definite keeper.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I gtg glare luv u bye!!! Sienna
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nobodys teeth are sharper than mine because Im a vampire
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Who needs to be healed?!" He says, a little louer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a zon of zeus and i will litterally electrihute you with 8,000,000 volts of electricity glare.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im in camp. READ MY POST THERE...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another excellent read about Wind River. Fast paced and keeps you guessig.