×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Vain Empires
     

Vain Empires

5.0 1
by Brandilyn Collins
 

See All Formats & Editions

They were stuck on this remote island, all of them.
Trapped in this show.
No way to stop whatever came next.
No way at all.

Six people arrive on a remote island--contestants in the "reality show of the century," Dream Prize. The winner will be the person who learns the most facts about the others and gains the most viewer votes. Sounds simple.

Overview

They were stuck on this remote island, all of them.
Trapped in this show.
No way to stop whatever came next.
No way at all.

Six people arrive on a remote island--contestants in the "reality show of the century," Dream Prize. The winner will be the person who learns the most facts about the others and gains the most viewer votes. Sounds simple. But the three men and three women soon discover nothing is as expected.

They are alone on the island. Cameras surround them, filming twenty-four hours a day. And their challenge? Discover which of the Seven Deadly Sins each contestant, including themselves, represents.

Turns out each person has a damning secret--one that could ruin his or her life. Those secrets are about to be revealed on live television.

And this is only the beginning of the twists in the game.

Multilayered in plot and rich with meaning, Vain Empires is a strong choice for book clubs. Discussion questions included.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
11/07/2016
Collins (Dark Justice) opens this ethics-focused mystery with a diverse assortment of contestants appearing on a new reality show. Sequestered on a private island off the coast of Australia, six strangers vie for the Dream Prize—a prize of their own choosing, worth up to $10 million. The producer provides instructions via messages that appear at an appointed time on a computer monitor, the first of which delivers the ominous terms of the game: each of the six contestants harbors a true secret from their past that correlates to one of the seven deadly sins. In order to win, the contestants must link each sin to the appropriate person, including naming their own offenses. Collins cleverly switches perspective as details of the contest and the contestant’s lives are teased out. There is a computer engineer, a gregarious radio host, a foundation owner from Malibu, an elegant v-p of a software company, an actress ingénue, and earnest, charmingly sarcastic Gina Corrales, a real estate agent from Pasadena. While the other characters are taken over by the stakes of the game, Gina seems to be the only participant with a modicum of faith. As the dog-eat-dog rules of the game bring out the worst in the contestants, readers will wonder whether true absolution is possible under the gaze of millions of viewers. Readers of Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None will be riveted by Collins’s incisive take on the values of reality TV culture. (June)
Library Journal
09/01/2016
How far will someone go to keep up appearances? Alone for three days at an Australian beach house, six reality TV contestants compete to win their "Dream Prize." Each participant is confident of their success until they learn the real purpose of the game is to uncover their darkest secrets. Immediately, the contestants turn on one another. The latest stand-alone entry in Collins's "Seatbelt Suspense" series starts off slowly like a roller coaster and picks up speed, racing through a twisty, terrifying plot. VERDICT Adrenaline junkies will appreciate Collins's (Dark Justice) locked-room, Agatha Christie-esque novel of suspense. An eerie and foreboding tone and a tense plot keep readers glued to the story until the final page. A perfect fit for fans of Irene Hannon, Stephen King, and psychological suspense.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780692723111
Publisher:
Challow Press
Publication date:
06/03/2016
Pages:
338
Sales rank:
477,500
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.76(d)

Meet the Author

Brandilyn Collins is a best-selling author of nearly 30 books. She is best known for her Seatbelt Suspense®--fast-paced, character-driven suspense with myriad twists and an interwoven thread of faith. Brandilyn's awards for her novels include the ACFW Carol Award (three times), Inspirational Readers' Choice, the Inspy, Christian Retailing's Best Award (twice), and Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Vain Empires 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
MelissaF More than 1 year ago
I love Brandilyn Collins and that is why I bought this book to read. I don't know how she comes up with her stories but I have loved and devoured every book I have read by her. This book is one I couldn't wait to keep reading. I had to find out what was going on. There were parts of the book that were a little scary, just the unknown factor and then there were other parts that were disturbing. And oh, the twist at the end, I never saw it coming and I couldn't stop thinking about it. I want to go back and re-read the book to pick up on the clues now that I know what I know. This is definitely a book that will keep you thinking after you finish it. Even though this is a book written by a Christian author and one of the characters does have a relationship with Jesus I think an unbeliever could read this book and not be offended or feel like they are getting preached at. I highly recommend this one:)