What Distant Deeps (RCN Series #8)

( 3 )

Overview

Master and Commander in space! Brilliant and brave starship captain Daniel Leary and ace spy Adele Mundy confront a pirate plot and once again save the Republic of Cinnabar despite itself.

#8 in the best-selling RCN military science fiction series.

Master and Commander to the stars. Captain Daniel Leary and master spy Adele Mundy must once again save the Cinnabar Republic despite itself. The jackals are moving in! The barbarians of the outer reaches intend to play both Cinnabar ...

See more details below
Paperback (Mass Market Paperback)
$7.19
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$7.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (18) from $1.99   
  • New (9) from $2.45   
  • Used (9) from $1.99   
What Distant Deeps

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price

Overview

Master and Commander in space! Brilliant and brave starship captain Daniel Leary and ace spy Adele Mundy confront a pirate plot and once again save the Republic of Cinnabar despite itself.

#8 in the best-selling RCN military science fiction series.

Master and Commander to the stars. Captain Daniel Leary and master spy Adele Mundy must once again save the Cinnabar Republic despite itself. The jackals are moving in! The barbarians of the outer reaches intend to play both Cinnabar and Cinnabar’s sworn enemy, the totalitarian Alliance, against each other and bring both empires down like an enormous house of cards. The barbarian pirates have commandeered and hot-rodded starships that can outmaneuver even Captain Leary’s trusty RCN corvette. But speed and tech don’t count for everything. The Princess Cecile has the incomparable Daniel Leary and his trusted aide and friend Adele Mundy in command. Faced with such grit, bravery and intelligent misdirection the pirates might find they’ve bitten off more than they can chew.

About David Drake’s “RCN” series:
“[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera.” –Publishers Weekly on the “RCN” series.

“The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!” –Philadelphia Weekly Press

“[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along…character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs.” –SFReader.com

About David Drake:
“[P]rose as cold and hard s the metal alloy of a tank…rivals Crane and Remarque…” – Chicago Sun-Times

“Drake couldn’t write a bad action scene at gunpoint.” – Booklist

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
The war between the Republic of Cinnabar and the Alliance of Free Stars ended with RCN Captain Daniel Leary's stunning victory at Cacique, resulting in an uneasy peace. In the eighth offering of the popular RCN series, Leary receives orders to transport a diplomat to Zenobia and orders his communications officer, Adele Mundy, to investigate Palmyra, a semi-barbaric ally that is responsible for securing that sector from piracy. They discover not only that Palmyra is about to invade Zenobia, but that certain rogue RCN officers are actively involved. With the specter of renewed hostilities looming before him, Leary approaches his Alliance counterpart and makes an astounding offer, because "all civilized persons have a duty to stand against barbarians." Drake (As the Tide Rises) deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera. (Sept.)
Library Journal
After the declaration of peace between Cinnebar and its rival, the Alliance of Free Stars, Capt. Daniel Leary of the Republic of Cinnebar's Navy and his friend, the spy Adele Mundy, accept an assignment to the fringe planet Zenobia, an easy mission that should afford them a period of respite from their previous wartime efforts. Instead of a vacation, however, Leary and Mundy encounter a multipronged threat to the peace of both systems: space pirates in state-of-the-art vessels and factions that would undermine the fragile peace. The latest addition to Drake's popular series (With the Lightnings; The Far Side of the Stars) features a pair of appealing heroes, fast-paced military action, and first-rate storytelling. VERDICT A rousing tale of space battles and personal courage, this sf adventure should appeal to fans of David Weber's "Honor Harrington" novels, as well as those who enjoy the works of John Ringo and Eric Flint.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781439134450
  • Publisher: Baen
  • Publication date: 5/31/2011
  • Series: RCN Series , #8
  • Format: Mass Market Paperback
  • Pages: 528
  • Sales rank: 416,412
  • Product dimensions: 6.60 (w) x 4.20 (h) x 1.12 (d)

Meet the Author

David Drake

David Drake was attending Duke University Law School when he was drafted. He served the next two years in the Army, spending 1970 as an enlisted interrogator with the 11th armored Cavalry in Viet Nam and Cambodia. Upon return he completed his law degree at Duke and was for eight years Assistant Town Attorney for Chapel Hill, North Carolina. He has been a full-time freelance writer since 1981. His books include the genre-defining and bestselling Hammer’s Slammers series, the RCN series including In the Stormy Red Sky, The Way to Glory, and many more.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)