New Releases

Our Most Anticipated New Kids’ & YA Book Releases of January 2022

It’s a common misconception that once the holidays are over, the magic must stop. But now we enter the time of year that we like to call, “Gift Card Redemption Season.” Think of us as your support group. Are your children begging you to take them to your local B&N so they can cash in on those gift cards? Our most anticipated new releases for Kids’ and YA this January include the awaited conclusion to J. Elle’s Wings of Ebony duology, new stories from National Book Award and Newbery Honor winners, plus, an emotional and timely story that rips your heart out from the seams and stomps all over it — we know you love those.

Wutaryoo

Wutaryoo

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

Wutaryoo

Nilah Magruder

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

A brilliant, thought-provoking soul-search from Nilah Magruder that will resonate with every reader. Wutaryoo is for anyone who’s ever been asked or asked themselves “What are you?” When the heartfelt and creative content matches perfectly with the gorgeous illustrations, you know you’re experiencing something special.

A brilliant, thought-provoking soul-search from Nilah Magruder that will resonate with every reader. Wutaryoo is for anyone who’s ever been asked or asked themselves “What are you?” When the heartfelt and creative content matches perfectly with the gorgeous illustrations, you know you’re experiencing something special.

Smooch!: A Sweet Picture Book about Unconditional Love

Smooch!: A Sweet Picture Book about Unconditional Love

Hardcover $15.49 $17.99

Smooch!: A Sweet Picture Book about Unconditional Love

Karen Kilpatrick , Germ n Blanco

In Stock Online

Hardcover $15.49 $17.99

The quintessential read-aloud for anyone who loves someone that’s smooch-able. Karen Kilpatrick and Germán Blanco’s adorable ode to the kiss features a wide variety of characters that shine a spotlight on how fun it is to love someone!

The quintessential read-aloud for anyone who loves someone that’s smooch-able. Karen Kilpatrick and Germán Blanco’s adorable ode to the kiss features a wide variety of characters that shine a spotlight on how fun it is to love someone!

Operation Do-Over

Operation Do-Over

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

Operation Do-Over

Gordon Korman

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

Gordon Korman’s latest novel answers the age-old question: What would you do if you could go back in time? Operation Do-Over is a heartwarming read about friendship and self-discovery peppered with Korman’s trademark humor. Perfect for fans of Restart and The Unteachables.

Gordon Korman’s latest novel answers the age-old question: What would you do if you could go back in time? Operation Do-Over is a heartwarming read about friendship and self-discovery peppered with Korman’s trademark humor. Perfect for fans of Restart and The Unteachables.

Northwind

Northwind

Hardcover $17.99

Northwind

Gary Paulsen

In Stock Online

Hardcover $17.99

Gary Paulsen was the master of survival stories, and Northwind is no exception. This harrowing adventure at sea follows a young orphan on a journey to escape the deadly plague that has ravaged his home. Paulsen’s vivid descriptions of Leif’s dangerous voyage practically jump off the page in this captivating tale.

Gary Paulsen was the master of survival stories, and Northwind is no exception. This harrowing adventure at sea follows a young orphan on a journey to escape the deadly plague that has ravaged his home. Paulsen’s vivid descriptions of Leif’s dangerous voyage practically jump off the page in this captivating tale.

The Year We Learned to Fly

The Year We Learned to Fly

Hardcover $15.99 $18.99

The Year We Learned to Fly

Jacqueline Woodson , Rafael López

In Stock Online

Hardcover $15.99 $18.99

This gorgeous companion to the bestselling The Day You Begin is full of family, heart, creativity and even artfully touches on the changing of seasons and how weather impacts our moods and emotions. Jacqueline Woodson and Rafael Lopez share some inspirational wisdom for the modern child that won’t be lost on the adult reader.

This gorgeous companion to the bestselling The Day You Begin is full of family, heart, creativity and even artfully touches on the changing of seasons and how weather impacts our moods and emotions. Jacqueline Woodson and Rafael Lopez share some inspirational wisdom for the modern child that won’t be lost on the adult reader.

Ain't Burned All the Bright

Ain't Burned All the Bright

Hardcover $16.99 $19.99

Ain't Burned All the Bright

Jason Reynolds , Jason Griffin

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $19.99

Utterly unique and evocative, Ain’t Burned All the Bright is a masterful mash-up of art and text from Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin. This powerful piece captures what it’s like to be young and Black in America right now. Though the text is sparse, the feeling behind it will linger with readers long after the last page.

Utterly unique and evocative, Ain’t Burned All the Bright is a masterful mash-up of art and text from Jason Reynolds and Jason Griffin. This powerful piece captures what it’s like to be young and Black in America right now. Though the text is sparse, the feeling behind it will linger with readers long after the last page.

Ashes of Gold

Ashes of Gold

Hardcover $16.99 $19.99

Ashes of Gold

J. Elle

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $19.99

This stunning sequel to our February 2021 YA Book Club pick, Wings of Ebony, is just as pulse-pounding as the first volume. It’s up to Rue to save herself, her community, and the magic of her father’s people, even though she’s still figuring out how she fits into the world as a half-god, half-human. J. Elle delivers a satisfying conclusion to this epic duology.

This stunning sequel to our February 2021 YA Book Club pick, Wings of Ebony, is just as pulse-pounding as the first volume. It’s up to Rue to save herself, her community, and the magic of her father’s people, even though she’s still figuring out how she fits into the world as a half-god, half-human. J. Elle delivers a satisfying conclusion to this epic duology.

At the End of Everything

At the End of Everything

Hardcover $15.99 $18.99

At the End of Everything

Marieke Nijkamp

In Stock Online

Hardcover $15.99 $18.99

Marieke Nijkamp’s latest thriller is an emotional story of survival in a world ravaged by a deadly plague. When the teenage delinquents at Hope Treatment Center wake one day to find themselves abandoned by the guards, they realize the reality outside their doors is much more sinister. This timely, action-packed tale told from multiple points of view will have readers tearing through the pages.

Marieke Nijkamp’s latest thriller is an emotional story of survival in a world ravaged by a deadly plague. When the teenage delinquents at Hope Treatment Center wake one day to find themselves abandoned by the guards, they realize the reality outside their doors is much more sinister. This timely, action-packed tale told from multiple points of view will have readers tearing through the pages.

In Every Generation (Buffy: The Next Generation, Book 1)

In Every Generation (Buffy: The Next Generation, Book 1)

Hardcover $15.99 $18.99

In Every Generation (Buffy: The Next Generation, Book 1)

Kendare Blake

In Stock Online

Hardcover $15.99 $18.99

Buffy fans rejoice! This brand-new story set in the beloved Buffy-verse follows the next generation of Scoobies and Slayers as they come together to conquer a new evil on the rise. This nostalgic read by favorite author Kendare Blake is sure to be enjoyed by fans of the cult classic series.

Buffy fans rejoice! This brand-new story set in the beloved Buffy-verse follows the next generation of Scoobies and Slayers as they come together to conquer a new evil on the rise. This nostalgic read by favorite author Kendare Blake is sure to be enjoyed by fans of the cult classic series.