Pub. Date:
18 Essential Songs

18 Essential Songs

by Janis JoplinJanis Joplin


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25


18 Essential Songs is a one-disc distillation of the triple-disc Janis box set. Running 70 minutes, it is a more extensive best-of than the ten-track 1973 Janis Joplin's Greatest Hits album. But it is denied "first pick" status because, unlike that album, it does not contain the hit version of Joplin's only number one single, "Me and Bobby McGee." (It does, however, contain an alternate demo version of that song.)

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/24/1995
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646700525
catalogNumber: 67005
Rank: 1518


  1. Trouble in Mind
  2. Down on Me
  3. Bye Bye Baby
  4. Ball and Chain
  5. Piece of My Heart
  6. I Need a Man to Love
  7. Summertime
  8. Try (Just a Little Bit Harder)
  9. One Good Man
  10. Kozmic Blues
  11. Raise Your Hand
  12. Tell Mama
  13. Move Over
  14. Mercedes Benz
  15. Get It While You Can
  16. Half Moon
  17. Trust Me
  18. Me and Bobby Mcgee

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Janis Joplin   Primary Artist
Peter Albin   Bass
Sam Andrew   Guitar,Background Vocals
Maury Baker   Drums
Richard Bell   Piano
Brad Campbell   Bass
Lonnie Castille   Drums
Terry Clements   Tenor Saxophone
Cornelius "Snookey" Flowers   Baritone Saxophone,Background Vocals
David Getz   Drums
James Gurley   Guitar
Richard Kermode   Keyboards
Roy Markowitz   Drums
Gabriel Mekler   Keyboards
Ken Pearson   Organ
Clark Pierson   Drums
John Till   Guitar
Luis Gasco   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Janis Joplin   Arranger,Composer
Bob Neuwirth   Composer
John Hall   Composer
Mary Katherine Aldin   Liner Notes
Bert Berns   Composer
Don DeVito   Executive Producer
Michael McClure   Composer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Bert Russell   Composer
Joel Zimmerman   Art Direction
Vic Anesini   Remixing
Traditional   Composer
Fred L. Foster   Composer

Customer Reviews