A Life Observed: A Spiritual Biography of C. S. Lewis

A Life Observed: A Spiritual Biography of C. S. Lewis


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 19


C. S. Lewis is one of the most influential Christian writers of our time. The Chronicles of Narnia has sold more than 100 million copies worldwide and all Lewis's works are estimated to sell 6 million copies annually. At the fiftieth anniversary of his death, Lewis expert Devin Brown brings the beloved author's story to life in a fresh, accessible, and moving biography through focusing on Lewis's spiritual journey.

Although it was clear from the start that Lewis would be a writer, it was not always clear he would become a Christian. Drawing on Lewis's autobiographical works, books by those who knew him personally, and his apologetic and fictional writing, this book tells the inspiring story of Lewis's journey from cynical atheist to joyous Christian and challenges readers to follow their own calling. The book allows Lewis to tell his own life story in a uniquely powerful manner while shedding light on his best-known works.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781587433351
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 08/15/2013
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 550,423
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Devin Brown (PhD, University of South Carolina) is a Lilly scholar and professor of English at Asbury University in Wilmore, Kentucky, where he teaches courses on C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien. He has written, taught, and lectured on Lewis extensively for more than ten years. He has authored a number of books related to Lewis, including Inside Narnia. In 2008 he was invited to serve as scholar-in-residence at the Kilns, Lewis's home in Oxford.

Table of Contents

Foreword by Douglas Gresham
Prologue: A Longing Nothing Can Satisfy
1. Infant and Child (1898-1908)
2. Schoolboy and Adolescent (1908-1913)
3. Young Man and University Student (1913-1925)
4. Oxford Don and Reluctant Convert (1925-1931)
5. Inkling and Author (1931-1950)
6. Husband, Widower, and Brother Once More (1950-1963)
Epilogue: Home at Last

Customer Reviews