A Naked Singularity: A Novel

A Naked Singularity: A Novel

by Sergio De La Pava

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99 $18.00 Save 22% Current price is $13.99, Original price is $18. You Save 22%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

The critically acclaimed novel that will soon be a major legal thriller starring John Boyega and Olivia Cooke!

A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It’s a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If InfiniteJest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis’s A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780226141800
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
Publication date: 04/09/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 688
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Sergio De La Pava is a writer who does not live in Brooklyn.

Table of Contents

A Naked Singularity Part One Chapter 1 Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4 Chapter 5 Chapter 3x2x1 Chapter 7 Chapter 8 Chapter 9 Chapter 10 Chapter 11 Part Two Chapter 12 Chapter 13 Chapter 14 Chapter 15 Chapter 16 Chapter 17 Chapter 18 Chapter 19 Chapter 20 Chapter 21 Chapter 22 Part Three Chapter 23 Chapter 24 Chapter 25 Chapter 26 Chapter 27 Chapter 14 + 7 + 4 + 2 + 1 Chapter 29 Chapter 30 Chapter 31 Chapter 32 Chapter 33

What People are Saying About This

Lian Hearn

When I started reading A Naked Singularity, after a page or two I realized I was going to love it—and I did—but why? I've never sat down to analyze what it is that makes me read a book voraciously from cover to cover, fretting when I have to put it down and longing through the day to get back to it. I like, admire, appreciate a whole range of books and am happy to devote my time and attention to them, but the ones that take me over are rarer. . . . Casi's voice is astonishing, cynical but compassionate, alive to the ridiculous and the pitiful and the horrific but never losing its commitment to morality. (Lian Hearn, author of Tales of the Otori)

Steven Moore

Sergio De La Pava brings linguistic energy and grim hilarity to this furious novel about the dysfunctional criminal-justice system. His novel evokes such maximalist masterpieces of the 1970s as Robert Coover's Public Burning and William Gaddis's J R—he has Coover's rage and Gaddis's ear—yet also grapples with current issues hot off the AP wire. Socially engaged, formally inventive, and intellectually challenging, A Naked Singularity is a remarkable performance. (Steven Moore, author of The Novel: An Alternative History)

Customer Reviews