Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
A Thousand Fires

A Thousand Fires

by Shannon Price

Narrated by Frankie Corzo

Unabridged — 8 hours, 53 minutes

Shannon Price
A Thousand Fires

A Thousand Fires

by Shannon Price

Narrated by Frankie Corzo

Unabridged — 8 hours, 53 minutes

Shannon Price

Audiobook (Digital)

$18.49
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$19.99 Save 8% Current price is $18.49, Original price is $19.99. You Save 8%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $18.49 $19.99

Overview

Shannon Price's A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut — think The Outsiders meets The Iliad — that's perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl's Epic Quest....

Valerie Simons knows the Wars are dangerous — her little brother was killed by the Boars two years ago. But nothing will sway Valerie from joining the elite and beautiful Herons with her boyfriend Matthew to avenge her brother. But when Jax, the volatile and beyond charismatic leader of the Stags, promises her revenge, Valerie is torn between old love and new loyalty.



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"A Thousand Fires pulls you in close and shows you the essence of what it means to keep fighting. Shannon Price is one to watch." --Gwenda Bond, New York Times bestselling author of Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds

"Brutal and beautiful, A THOUSAND FIRES broke my heart. A fast-paced tragedy of love, betrayal, and vengeance." --Heidi Heilig, author of For a Muse of Fire

"Modern, unflinching and filled with haunting, lingering imagery, A Thousand Fires gives the story of the Iliad the bare-knuckled update it deserves." --Colleen Oakes, author of The Black Coats

"Fast-paced... Vivid descriptions and intricate details bring San Francisco to life ... A promising debut." --Kirkus

"A heart-wrenching tale... action-packed and intense... A fantastic read." --School Library Journal

"Fans of stories of factional conflict such as Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy will feel right at home." --Booklist

"Price will have readers who prefer their action spiced with a dash of romance and a pinch of speculative fiction eating out of her hand." --Bookpage

"Packs an emotional wallop." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

School Library Journal

10/01/2019

Gr 9 Up—Debut author Price presents a heart-wrenching tale of a group of young adults in San Francisco who are trying to end the Wars between the three gangs of the Bay Area: the Herons, the Boars, and the Stags. A ritual happens in the city when a teenager turns 18: they might be drafted into one of the gangs to fight in the Wars. Valerie Simons struggles through the loss of her little brother, Leo, who was shot by a member of one of the gangs that run the city. Heartbroken and enraged, her mission becomes to join the Herons with her love interest Matthew, who is heir to the Herons leadership, to find Leo's murderer. But the night of Valerie's 18th birthday she is kidnapped by members of the Stags and is coerced into joining their group. Now Valerie must choose between two factions and two loves in her quest for revenge. The detailed writing style portrays characters' emotions without overwhelming readers. Price manages to write a story not only action-packed and intense, but that also dives deep into serious subjects: cutting/self-harm, suicidal tendencies, grief, and resentment toward parents who aren't around. The characters are all memorable and readers' feelings about them will be constantly evolving. There isn't a clear-cut villain until the very end, making the story unpredictable. VERDICT Despite minor details that seem rushed, this is a fantastic read. Recommended for teens who enjoy urban coming-of-age stories.—Danny Jacobs, Las Vegas Clark County Library District

Kirkus Reviews

2019-08-13
On the night of her 18th birthday, Valerie Simons accepts an offer to join San Francisco's Red Bridge Wars.

Inspired by the Iliad and the gritty city of San Francisco, this fast-paced debut follows a teen's quest for vengeance in the gang wars that killed her younger brother, Leo. The wars involve three fighting gangs: the Herons (dynastic families with money in the tech business), the Boars (a violent group of San Francisco natives), and the Stags (the newest and least-known of the three). Val is set on joining the Herons with her ex-boyfriend Matthew Weston, who comes from a Heron family, but a dangerous altercation on the highway leaves her with little choice when enigmatic Jax, the Stag leader, extends her a formal offer to join them along with the knowledge of who killed Leo. Wracked with guilt and fueled by revenge, Val is a likable yet flawed character who is struggling with her inner demons. Vivid descriptions and intricate details bring San Francisco to life, but a lukewarm love triangle and rushed ending leave something to be desired. Val is biracial (Filipina and white); some secondary characters are ethnically diverse and queer, but many are assumed white.

A promising debut. (author's note) (Fiction. 14-18)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940169398144
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Publication date: 11/05/2019
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 1,228,302

Customer Reviews