A Very French Affair: A feel-good beach read about second chances!

A Very French Affair: A feel-good beach read about second chances!

by Sue Roberts

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 23

Overview

From Southport to the South of France – this is going to be a summer to remember!



Life just got a whole lot more complicated for thirty-eight-year-old single mum Liv. Her son Jake is practically perfect in every way, but he’s started asking some difficult questions, and the answers lie in a holiday romance twenty years ago. Back when Liv was staying with her aunt on the French Riviera…



Returning to the Cote d’Azur, with its white sandy beaches, her supportive aunt, and exquisite wine and cheese is harder than it sounds though. Because – if she’s going to give Jake the answers he needs – Liv knows she has to hunt down her first love Andre. And since she’s a professional baker rather than a professional investigator, she doesn’t even have a clue where to start.



At first, finding the one that got away proves even trickier than she thought. And if she succeeds, how will he take the bombshell secret Liv has been keeping? Liv has to do the best thing for her family, but does that mean closing the door on this very French affair?



A joyful, laugh-out-loud story about second chances, secrets and sunshine! The perfect summer read for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.

Readers love A Very French Affair:



Oh my God!!!!... I really loved this book… so good and sweet that it is very hard to leave behind’ The Nerdy Bookarazzi



‘The story flows well, the characters are brought to life beautifully and you feel much happier after reading… Definitely a book to enjoy on a sunny day.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



‘I thoroughly enjoyed this story!... the perfect story to read on a summer’s day or on a holiday where you can just relax and let the author's words take you away… 5 stars from me for this one, very highly recommended!!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



‘Go on your very own French adventure. Well in the pages of this book at least. This is a lovely holiday feel good fabulous read.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



‘After reading this book? Well, I was just about ready to book a flight to Nice… captures the spirit of the South of France perfectly… This should absolutely be your next read!Walking Through the Pages



‘I enjoyed this book for so many reasons… a lovely love story.’ Liana Reads ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



‘The entire book breathes sun, sand and umbrella cocktails… the perfect summer holiday read.’ Reflections of a Swede



A wonderful holiday read, I would have loved to have read this poolside, in the sun, drinking a cocktail… A truly enjoyable story that kept me thoroughly entertained.’ Rachel’s Random Reads ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781786814975
Publisher: Storyfire Ltd
Publication date: 07/05/2019
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 419,139
Product dimensions: 5.06(w) x 7.81(h) x 0.61(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Very French Affair: A feel-good beach read about second chances! 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
gaele 12 days ago
Olivia (Liv) has managed to spend the last twenty years starting her own cake decorating business after leaving teaching, and raising her son Jake who constantly reminds her of the summer love she had in France when she was just 18. Now, with her parents having taken up roving the countryside in a camper-van, and her son returning from Uni with several questions about continuing, she’s convinced that things are all crashing around her, and the plans she had for an orderly and successful future are up in the air. But with her Aunt Genevieve’s needing knee surgery and some care for a few weeks after, as well as a helping hand in her own bakery where Liv learned to love cakes, pastries and pies, she’s decided to head to France to help out, taking one of her best friends with her, and leaving her home business in the capable hands of her assistant, with her son helping out as needed. Of course, because things couldn’t be more complicated for Liv, Jake has expressed what is, to her, the first interest in his father in years. She’s feeling guilty for not connecting the two, even though she didn’t have the first idea where to find André, and she’s not happy that she and Jake have had words. She’s also concerned about his indecision about continuing on with his university course, and while she’s impressed with what he has been knocking up in the kitchen, she can’t help but wonder about the sudden change in his direction, or just what is best for him. From worrying about how to contact André, to actually having to do it, discovering her feelings are still strong, and the memories stirred up by working with her aunt, her aunt’s best friend Lillian and her outrageous (yet very French attitudes) and her discovering the beauty and allure of the countryside – Liv has so much to deal with, and mostly she handles it well. But, explaining Jake’s existence to André and worrying about both reactions: discovering a son and introducing a father, she’s still wondering about her life back in England, and if she can figure out a way to not lose André again, after rediscovering him and her feelings for him. A lovely and sunny story, redolent with the sights, smells and atmosphere of the Cote d’Azur, and full of those moments of family and friends (particularly Jo and her doggie-nemesis Harold) that add richness and texture to a story to make it feel more ‘real’ and grounded. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
RobinLovesReading 12 days ago
Life is being very good to Olivia. She has given up an unfulfilling teaching job and has opened her own bakery. Liv has also managed to raise a son all on her own, with the aid of her parents. While visiting from university, her son, Jake, comes home a bit disillusioned about his courses. More seriously, he is bemoaning the fact that he never met his father. Liv decides to visit France, where she spent many summers with her Aunt Gen, to try and discover the whereabouts of Jake's father, Andre. When Liv arrives at her aunt's home and bakery, her first order of business is to help her aunt while she recovers from surgery. However, in the back of her mind she knows she must begin asking around about Andre. It has been twenty years, and she has not seen him since she was eighteen years old. It was a first love for both of them, but during the summer they were together, Andre often told Liv of his desire to travel the world, and that he did. How is Liv going to find him for Jake? As it happens, she does find Andre. So now the question is, how things will go, not just for Jake and his father, but for Liv and Andre themselves? With the support of friends Faye and Jo, Liv does the best she can to make her son happy. In so doing this gives her a chance to see where her heart, and future, lie. What a sweet story. As much as this turned out to be a wonderful romance, there was humor included that pushed the story along. It helped to break up the seriousness of the situation of the fact that Liv had to find Andre. There was also a lot of good food in this book! Whether it was baked delicacies or fine french cuisine, it was indeed mouth-watering. I thoroughly enjoyed this book by Sue Roberts and look forward to reading more of her in the future. Many thanks to Bookouture and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.
Avid_Reader_LB4 12 days ago
4.5 stars Sun-kissed and with minor angst, A Very French Affair is the dream romance of second chances set in a gorgeous Antibes summer. English entrepreneur baker Olivia takes off for the South of France and a trunkful of memories knowing that she owes it to her 20 year-old son to search for his father Andre, who left her to go on a world tour before Olivia even knew she was pregnant. Though she actually spends most of her time helping out in her aunt's bakery and enjoying Antibes at its summer best, fate steps in and aids in her hunt for Andre. The story is a romantic and happy one, but not unrealistically so. Flashbacks to 1998, the year Olivia met and lost Andre, are few but they set the tone for Olivia's present day ambivalence and procrastination. If she succeeds and finds Andre, could it warp her memories of the youthful connection they shared? It's no wonder she is hesitant about getting her hopes up. This is a heroine that I could easily identify with (though I, unlike Olivia, am no genius in the kitchen!) The secondary characters are well-drawn, right down to the local market fruit vendor Olivia befriends, and all of the mouth-watering descriptions of food were so vivid I put on a pound or two just from reading about it!, Overall, a lovely read and a paean to the French cuisine, scenery and lifestyle. I read a complimentary advance copy of the book provided through NetGalley; this is my voluntary and honest review.
MKF 12 days ago
It was amazing to me that Jake didn't push for info about his father until he was 18 but his mother Liv's hunt for her summer love Andre is what propels this nice read. Liv's a baker, as is her aunt, and there are terrific descriptions not only of her cakes but also of the food in France. This never gets serious but remains light and fun. You'll enjoy Liv's interactions with her friends and family- so real! Thanks to netgalley for the ARC.