About to Get Real

About to Get Real

by Easton Corbin


$11.47 $11.99 Save 4% Current price is $11.47, Original price is $11.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 29


Joe Nichols sang "Yeah" in 2014 and a year later Easton Corbin sings "Yup," an "aw shucks" sentiment that suits the Florida-born country singer. Corbin brings Nichols to mind elsewhere on About to Get Real, his third full-length album, since he has a similar supple baritone and is also a traditionalist slowly moving into softer territory. No matter what the album title implies -- "real" usually conveys grit, a quality conspicuously absent from these 12 songs -- About to Get Real is so smooth it sometimes suggests the glory days of Urban Cowboy, when modern country flirted heavily with the soft rock mainstream. This is as true of the lovely title track as it is with the tame twang of "Wild Women and Whiskey," a song that's as rowdy as it gets here, and that's still pretty mellow. Thing is, Corbin doesn't put on airs that he's anything other than a sweet, likeable guy, so this untrammeled pleasantness isn't a problem. Often, it's ingratiating, with the cool shimmer of Carson Chamberlain's production mirroring Corbin's light touch and the songs working as slow, steady growers, not grabbers. Combined, all of this shows nice workmanship. Compared with his two previous platters, About to Get Real is a bit slicker, but that gloss in no way diminishes Corbin's very real (and very mellow) charms.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/30/2015
Label: Mercury Nashville
UPC: 0602537863709
catalogNumber: 002091502
Rank: 2800

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Easton Corbin   Primary Artist
Gary Prim   Piano,Keyboards,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
John Wesley Ryles   Background Vocals
Eddie Bayers   Drums
Jimmy Carter   Bass
J.T. Corenflos   Electric Guitar,Guitar (Resonator)
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bouzouki
Glenn Worf   Bass
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
David Smith   Bass

Technical Credits

Ronnie Dunn   Composer
John Kelton   Engineer
Terry McBride   Composer
Rhett Akins   Composer
Tommy Lee James   Composer
Brett James   Composer
Stephen Allen Davis   Composer
Tony Lane   Composer
Bart Busch   Engineer
Carson Chamberlain   Composer,Producer
Jim Collins   Composer
Shane Minor   Composer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Karen Naff   Art Direction
David Lee   Composer
Cary Barlowe   Composer
Jaren Johnston   Composer
Ashley Gorley   Composer
Jeremy Stover   Composer
Phil O'Donnell   Composer
Easton Corbin   Composer
Jeff Hyde   Composer
Ben Hayslip   Composer
Wade Kirby   Composer
Zach Crowell   Composer
Travis Humbert   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews