Against All Odds: Our Life Journey With Autism

Against All Odds: Our Life Journey With Autism

by Carol Basile
Against All Odds: Our Life Journey With Autism

Against All Odds: Our Life Journey With Autism

by Carol Basile


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 29
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


“Put your son in an institution and move on with your life.”

At the age of six, Joe was diagnosed with autism. It was 1972 and little was known about this disability. Joe’s neurologist advised Carol Basile to institutionalize her only son. She refused. And with only a mother’s fierce love and relentless quest for answers, she began a journey to help her son surpass his limited expectations and lead a meaningful life. Against All Odds is a story of an autistic child who, with courage and determination, struggles through life stages, achieving goals. It is a story of taking opportunities and never giving up. It is a story of the lessons learned to help every parent of an autistic child to see the possibilities instead of the challenges.

Autism doesn’t have to limit your child’s potential.

Joe went on to build relationships in the community, achieve a Master’s Degree, and hold a regular job. His success doesn’t have to be the exception. Your child can be more than their diagnosis too.

This heartfelt book is a powerful and practical guide for parents and educators of autistic children. It is filled with resources and first-hand experiences to equip you with the skills to help your child flourish in today’s world.

Against All Odds includes:

  • Established life stage goals specifically adapted for autistic children and adults
  • Personal examples for achieving life goals
  • Family dynamics with an autistic child
  • The bright future for autistic children and adults
  • Practical suggestions for parents, teachers, and other professionals

  • Product Details

    ISBN-13: 9781732435940
    Publisher: Dragon Gate Media
    Publication date: 08/02/2019
    Series: Mom's Choice Award Winner
    Pages: 250
    Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.57(d)

    Table of Contents



    Section One

    Chapter 1 Autism and Unconditional Love

    Chapter 2 Beginning to Understand

    Chapter 3 Theories That Changed My Life

    Chapter 4 Revenge of the Refrigerator Mom

    Chapter 5 All in the Same Boat

    Section Two

    Chapter 6 Joe Finally Sleeps

    Chapter 7 Joe Explores

    Chapter 8 Joe’s Adventures Begin

    Chapter 9 Joe Knows Stranger Danger

    Chapter 10 Joe Becomes a Teacher

    Chapter 11 Joe Says “Coffee with Cocoa, Please”

    Chapter 12 Joe Begins to Step Out of His Inner World

    Chapter 13 Joe Goes Against All Odds

    Chapter 14 Joe Goes Against All Odds Again

    Chapter 15 Joe Steps Out on His Own

    Section Three

    Chapter 16 The Brighter Future


    From the B&N Reads Blog

    Customer Reviews