Ain't It Time We Said Goodbye: The Rolling Stones on the Road to Exile

Ain't It Time We Said Goodbye: The Rolling Stones on the Road to Exile

by Robert Greenfield

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


For ten days in March 1971, the Rolling Stones traveled by train and bus to play two shows a night in many of the small theaters and town halls where their careers began. No backstage passes. No security. No sound checks or rehearsals. And only one journalist allowed. That journalist now delivers a full-length account of this landmark event, which marked the end of the first chapter of the Stones' extraordinary career.

Ain't It Time We Said Goodbye is also the story of two artists on the precipice of mega stardom, power, and destruction. For Mick and Keith, and all those who traveled with them, the farewell tour of England was the end of the innocence.

Based on Robert Greenfield's first-hand account and new interviews with many of the key players, this is a vibrant, thrilling look at the way it once was for the Rolling Stones and their fans—and the way it would never be again.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780306823138
Publisher: Hachette Books
Publication date: 05/13/2014
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 216
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Robert Greenfield, a former Associate Editor of the London bureau of Rolling Stone magazine, has been published in eight different anthologies. His short fiction has appeared in Esquire, GQ, and Playboy magazines. STP: A Journey Through America with the Rolling Stones has been re-published three times in England as well as in America by Da Capo Press in a thirtieth anniversary edition.

A long time member of the Writer's Guild, Greenfield has taught English at Cabrillo College in Aptos, California; film at Chapman College in Monterey, California; and served as an Adjunct Professor of Composition and Literature at the University of San Francisco. He lives in California.

Table of Contents

Prologue: Before the Train Left the Station 1

Part 1 Goodbye, Great Britain 5

Chapter 1 Newcastle, March 4, 1971 7

Chapter 2 Manchester, March 5, 1971 23

Chapter 3 Coventry, March 6, 1971 41

Chapter 4 Glasgow, March 8, 1971 49

Chapter 5 Bristol, March 9, 1971 63

Chapter 6 Brighton, March 10, 1971 67

Chapter 7 Liverpool, March 12, 1971 77

Chapter 8 Leeds, March 13, 1971 89

Chapter 9 London, March 14, 1971 101

Chapter 10 The Marquee, March 26, 1971 109

Chapter 11 Maidenhead, March 30, 1971 117

Part 2 Aftermath 123

Chapter 12 Belfast, Paris, and Nice, March 25-May 21, 1971 125

Chapter 13 Villa Nellgote I, May 27-June 4, 1971 131

Chapter 14 Villa Nellgote II, June 5-11, 1971 141

Chapter 15 Villa Eden, June 12-18, 1971 147

Chapter 16 Villa Nellcote III, June 19-November 30, 1971 151

Chapter 17 Los Angeles, March 24-25, 1972 157

Chapter 18 Vancouver, June 3, 1972-New York City, July 26, 1972 169

Chapter 19 Kingston, Jamaica, December 1972 177

Epilogue: Hail and Farewell 189

Acknowledgments 193

Sources 195

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews