Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Akard Drearstone

Akard Drearstone

by Michael Smith
Akard Drearstone

Akard Drearstone

by Michael Smith

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


At their commune north of Austin, Texas in May 1975 the four members of the Akard Drearstone Group begin to feel the onslaught of national fame as twelve-year-old Jan Pace, daughter of a commune couple, falls in love with narcissistic, paranoid bassist Jim Piston. Lead guitarist Akard Drearstone invites country musician Bill Dunn to play rhythm on the group’s psychedelic masterpiece, “Overturned Runway,” but narcs raid their concert, kidnap Dunn, and kill him. On his wedding night, contemplating the dissolution of his hours-long marriage to Exponentialist philosopher Michelle Morgan, the group’s manager Harray Andreall finds Dunn’s body packed in ice on the second floor of the barn. Though he tries to convince the sullen members of the group that their musical experiment is worth continuing, Harray’s boss has been arrested on murder charges, the record company is near collapse, and Harray is dumbfounded to discover another killing perpetuated by a second band he manages.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940154600054
Publisher: Michael Smith
Publication date: 10/23/2017
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 603 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Michael D. Smith was raised in the Northeast and the Chicago area, then moved to Texas to attend Rice University, where he began developing as a writer and visual artist. In addition to exhibiting and selling paintings and drawings, he has completed sixteen novels. His novella The First Twenty Steps, published by Sortmind Press, is available as a Kindle eBook on Amazon. The Martian Marauders, Book One of his Jack Commer, Supreme Commander science fiction series, was published by Double Dragon Publishing in 2012, with Book Two, Jack Commer, Supreme Commander, following the same year. Book Three, Nonprofit Chronowar was published in 2013 and Book Four, Collapse and Delusion came out in July 2016. Book Five, The Wounded Frontier, is also scheduled to be published by Double Dragon. Smith's dystopian, black comedy novel CommWealth was published in August 2015 by Class Act Books, and Sortmind Press published his literary novel The Soul Institute in 2015. His science fiction story "Perpetual Starlit Night" was published in the Double Dragon anthology, Twisted Tails VII, in 2013. Smith's writing in both literary and science fiction genres uses humor to investigate psychological themes. His web site,, contains further examples of his novels and visual art, and he muses about writing and art processes on his blog, Smith is currently the Technology Librarian for McKinney Public Library in McKinney, Texas. In his career as a librarian he’s done extensive programming for adults, including book talks and author presentations, and has also marketed libraries through presentations and contacts with local media. His work includes technical assistance for eBooks and eAudiobooks.

Customer Reviews