All That Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes

All That Remains: A Renowned Forensic Scientist on Death, Mortality, and Solving Crimes

by Sue Black DBE, FRSE

Paperback

$18.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 13

Overview

Book of the Year, Saltire Literary Awards
A CrimeReads Best True Crime Book of the Month


For fans of Caitlin Doughty, Mary Roach, Kathy Reichs, and CSI shows, a renowned forensic scientist on death and mortality.

Dame Sue Black is an internationally renowned forensic anthropologist and human anatomist. She has lived her life eye to eye with the Grim Reaper, and she writes vividly about it in this book, which is part primer on the basics of identifying human remains, part frank memoir of a woman whose first paying job as a schoolgirl was to apprentice in a butcher shop, and part no-nonsense but deeply humane introduction to the reality of death in our lives. It is a treat for CSI junkies, murder mystery and thriller readers, and anyone seeking a clear-eyed guide to a subject that touches us all.

Cutting through hype, romanticism, and cliché, she recounts her first dissection; her own first acquaintance with a loved one’s death; the mortal remains in her lab and at burial sites as well as scenes of violence, murder, and criminal dismemberment; and about investigating mass fatalities due to war, accident, or natural disaster, such as the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She uses key cases to reveal how forensic science has developed and what her work has taught her about human nature.

Acclaimed by bestselling crime writers and fellow scientists alike, All That Remains is neither sad nor macabre. While Professor Black tells of tragedy, she also infuses her stories with a wicked sense of humor and much common sense.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781950691913
Publisher: Arcade
Publication date: 11/03/2020
Pages: 360
Sales rank: 63,886
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Sue Black, DBE, FRSE, is one of the world's leading anatomists and forensic anthropologists. She is also the pro‑vice chancellor for engagement at Lancaster University. Her forensic expertise has been crucial to solving high‑profile criminal cases. She was the lead anthropologist for the British Forensics Team's work in the war crimes investigations in Kosovo, and she worked in Thailand after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She makes regular appearances on radio and television. She was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 2016. She lives in Scotland.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

1 Silent teachers 13

2 Our cells and ourselves 31

3 Death in the family 61

4 Death up close and personal 77

5 Ashes to ashes 95

6 Dem bones 117

7 Not forgotten 141

8 Invenerunt corpus-body found! 167

9 The body mutilated 197

10 Kosovo 225

11 When disaster strikes 253

12 Fate, fear and phobias 277

13 An ideal solution 307

Epilogue 327

The man from Balmore 340

Acknowledgements 343

Picture Credits 345

Index 346

Customer Reviews