All the Horses of Iceland

All the Horses of Iceland

by Sarah Tolmie
All the Horses of Iceland

All the Horses of Iceland

by Sarah Tolmie

Paperback

$12.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, February 28
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

A New York Times Best Fantasy of 2022!

All the Horses of Iceland is a slim and beautiful chronicle in the tradition of Naomi Mitchison and Ursula K. Le Guin. …The result is a sorcerous journey through hospitality and enchantment.” —The New York Times

A hypnotic historical fantasy with gorgeous and unusual literary prose, from the captivating author of The Fourth Island.


Everyone knows of the horses of Iceland, wild, and small, and free, but few have heard their story. Sarah Tolmie’s All the Horses of Iceland weaves their mystical origin into a saga for the modern age. Filled with the magic and darkened whispers of a people on the cusp of major cultural change, All the Horses of Iceland tells the tale of a Norse trader, his travels through Central Asia, and the ghostly magic that followed him home to the land of fire, stone, and ice. His search for riches will take him from Helmgard, through Khazaria, to the steppes of Mongolia, where he will barter for horses and return with much, much more.

All the Horses of Iceland is a delve into the secret, imagined history of Iceland's unusual horses, brought to life by an expert storyteller.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250807939
Publisher: Tor Publishing Group
Publication date: 03/01/2022
Pages: 112
Sales rank: 100,321
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.80(h) x 0.40(d)

About the Author

Sarah Tolmie is the author of the Tordotom novella The Fourth Island, the poetry collections Check and The Art of Dying, the 120-sonnet sequence Trio, and the chapbook Sonnet in a Blue Dress and Other Poems. She has also published the novels The Little Animals and The Stone Boatmen, as well as the short fiction collections Two Travelers and NoFood. She is a medievalist trained at the University of Toronto and Cambridge and is a Professor of English at the University of Waterloo.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews