Almost Impossible

Almost Impossible

by Nicole Williams

Paperback

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Almost Impossible by Nicole Williams

Fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han will delight as the fireworks spark and the secrets fly in this delicious summer romance from a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author.

A fun and relatable summer read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han." -School Library Journal

When Jade decided to spend the summer with her aunt in California, she thought she knew what she was getting into. But nothing could have prepared her for Quentin. Jade hasn't been in suburbia long and even she knows her annoying (and annoyingly cute) next-door neighbor spells T-R-O-U-B-L-E.

And when Quentin learns Jade plans to spend her first American summer hiding out reading books, he refuses to be ignored. Sneaking out, staying up, and even a midnight swim, Quentin is determined to give Jade days--and nights--worth remembering.

But despite their storybook-perfect romance, every time Jade moves closer, Quentin pulls away. And when rumors of a jilted ex-girlfriend come to light, Jade knows Quentin is hiding a secret--and she's determined to find out what it is.

"Unique, well-plotted summer romance" --Booklist

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780553498813
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 06/19/2018
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 247,488
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

Nicole Williams is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Crash, Clash, and Crush, and numerous other titles, including her most recent YA contemporary romance, Trusting You & Other Lies.

Nicole loves reading and writing books about star-crossed lovers and happy endings, but believes some of the best stories are the ones we create every day. Nicole lives with her family in the Evergreen State. Visit her on Twitter at @nwilliamsbooks or on her blog at nicoleawilliams.blogspot.com.

Read an Excerpt

Anything was possible. At least that’s what it felt like.
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Almost Impossible"
by .
Copyright © 2018 Nicole Williams.
Excerpted by permission of Random House Children's Books.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Almost Impossible 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Aditi-ATWAMB 5 months ago
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS I love reading the occasional feel good high school contemporary romance. They’re easy to get through, fun, cute and well, they’re this kind of silly pleasure I indulge in once in a while. Almost Impossible started off rather slowly. I struggled to connect with Jade and the kind of live she lived. It was just this description of things that she had experienced, but there were no real emotions behind anything, even with things like ‘Oh, I’ve travelled the world,’ and ‘My mom is in a world famous brand.’ Jade also wanted to spend a summer as a normal teenager with family, but family was barely involved in the story. She wanted to know the rules, but then when her aunt and uncle imposed restrictions on her, she was annoyed that they thought they could. I guess I didn’t really like her much, or even understand her. She didn’t seem overly invested in anything – her job, family or anything at all, except her OWN spur of the moment decisions. I also figured out the biggest twist in this book very early. In fact, the first time I met a certain someone, I pretty much knew. It was the thing I liked the most about this book, in fact. I loved that, for ONCE, we saw a teenage boy who was responsible enough, and cared enough to stick around and be a parent. I loved that he was worried for her, and he was trying whatever he could to make things work. Honestly, I didn’t like Quentin and Jade as much as I liked the representation of a teenage father. I wish there was more to Jade's story than just Quentin (because, let’s be honest, that’s all it really was) like her family, her mom and even her co-worker friend and just MORE ABOUT JADE AS A PERSON, FEELING THINGS. 3 stars.
VPV613 8 months ago
This was a beatiful love story. It had all the great elements of young love. I definitely recommend this book, and this author. A wonderful book.
avidezliteraria 10 months ago
"- Maybe he´s got more best things in his life than he can count. How can you be so sure that I´d be one of them? Quentin´s hand reached mine. - Because you´re one of the best things that could happen to anyone." Jade is seventeen and spending the summer with her aunt. Her mother, lead singer of a rising band will be on tour and this will be the first time that spend the summer apart. A secret plan to find out more about her past, a job at a small snack bar at the edge of a swimming pool and a handsome lifeguard complete the seasoning of the summer plot. Quentin is the lifeguard in question. A handsome guy, who saves people from drowning, responsible with work and family, who takes care of younger siblings without complaining. The mature teenager is both fun and cute. Those type you want to keep in a pot. While Quentin is the wonderful walking cliche, a true prince charming, Jade is far from being the damsel in distress, or the lost princess. But both Quentin and Jade keep secrets. While Jade's are clear to the reader but not to her family, Quentin's are familiar to his family and will gradually be discovered by Jade and the reader. The book is narrated from Jade's pov, lightly and fluidly. It's a nice summer little story, with a lot of funny and cute scenes. Jade will learn the importance of communication and family as well as discover that despite of how responsible and intelligent sheis, she does not always take the best decisions. She will live all the experiences she hopes for and those she does not expect, such as the discovery of first love. When Quentin's great secret is revealed, a secret I already suspected from the beginning of the book, Jade acts like an immature girl. I only forgave her because the day before she had her emotional state shaken by a situation with her family. What about Quentin? Sweet, affectionate, responsible. A crush. I understood the part that Jade is upset and angry about to have discovered his secret by others, but I found her attitude a lot of noise, a lot of drama, for nothing. Jade's mother, Megan Abbott is my heroin. Strong and empowered woman, faithful to her essence, successful professional, loving and wise mother who wears boots and plays a guitar. She shows up at the right times and says the right things, even when Jade does not want to hear. The ending is cute, cliché and a delicious to read. A well written book with great characters, whose reading is worth it.