ISBN-10:
0142424765
ISBN-13:
9780142424766
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Althea & Oliver

Althea & Oliver

by Cristina Moracho

Paperback

$11.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, September 28

Overview

"The bittersweet romance, Oliver’s battle with his illness, and Althea’s coming-of-age struggle should appeal to fans of John Green and Sarah Dessen who are looking for something new." —VOYA

Althea Carter and Oliver McKinley have been best friends since they were six. Now, as their junior year of high school comes to a close, Althea has begun to want something more. Oliver simply wants life to go back to normal, but when he wakes up one morning with no memory of the past three weeks, he can’t deny any longer that something is seriously wrong with him. Then Althea makes the worst decision ever, and her relationship with Oliver is shattered. When he leaves town for a clinical study in New York, she drives up the coast after him, determined to make up for what she’s done.

Cristina Moracho’s extraordinary debut is an achingly real story about identity, illness, and love—and how one decision can change everything.

TIME Magazine Top 10 YA of 2014 ~ An SLJ Best Books of the Year ~ A Booklist Editor's Choice 2014 ~ A Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2014


"Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor and Park will enjoy debut author Cristina Moracho’s trip back to the 1990s in Althea and Oliver." —CNN.com

"A gut-wrenching tale." —People

* "Moracho’s coming-of-age story carries rare insight and a keen understanding of those verging on adulthood." —Booklist, starred review

* "Mesmerizing." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780142424766
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 03/08/2016
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 713,812
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile: 950L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

This is Cristina Moracho's first novel. She lives in Brooklyn, New York and tweets at @cherielecrivain.

Read an Excerpt

“It wasn’t exactly how I pictured it, either,” Althea shouts back. Her legs are shaking. “How do you think I feel? Do you think that’s what I wanted?”
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Althea & Oliver"
by .
Copyright © 2016 Cristina Moracho.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for Althea and Oliver:
 
"The bittersweet romance, Oliver’s battle with his illness, and Althea’s coming-of-age struggle should appeal to fans of John Green and Sarah Dessen who are looking for something new." —VOYA
 
"Fans of Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor and Park will enjoy debut author Cristina Moracho’s trip back to the 1990s in Althea and Oliver." —CNN.com
 
"A gut-wrenching tale." —People
 
"Moracho’s coming-of-age story carries rare insight and a keen understanding of those verging on adulthood." —Booklist, starred review

"It is the exquisitely created and painfully real, pitch-perfect characters who make it so memorable." —SLJ, starred review

"At turns gritty and gooey, Oliver and Althea’s evolving relationship unfolds in a warts-and-all narration that alternates between the two, deftly capturing the purgatorial crossroads between youth and adulthood . . . Mesmerizing." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Can boys and girls really be just friends? This endearing novel explores that, and a whole lot of other things including but not limited to: falling in love, punk rock, circa-’90s NYC, and a very complicated sleep disorder that causes those afflicted to fall asleep for days, weeks, even months at a time." —TeenVogue.com

"A gorgeous, glorious, unforgettable novel about punk rock, bad decisions, falling in love, and the messy beauty of growing up. Althea and Oliver is a flawlessly-crafted straight shot to the heart." —Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs
 
"I can't wait to tell people about this one. It's mind-blowingly good." —Molly Templeton, WORD Books
 
"Even if the book weren’t eloquent and hilarious, it’d be a must-read for all children of the ’90s. But thankfully, it is, and if you’re smart, you’ll run out and grab a copy."  —Bustle

"Go buy this book! Read it now!" —Hello Giggles

A TIME Magazine Top 10 YA of 2014 
An SLJ Best Books of the Year
Booklist Editor's Choice 2014
A Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2014
One of TeenVogue.com’s Best YA Books You Should Read This Fall
One of CNN.com’s 40 New Titles to Feed Your YA Book Addiction

Customer Reviews