American Street

American Street

by Ibi Zoboi
4.0 4

Hardcover

$12.03 $17.99 Save 33% Current price is $12.03, Original price is $17.99. You Save 33%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, September 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Five Starred Reviews!

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062473042
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 02/14/2017
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 35,952
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.30(d)
Lexile: HL690L (what's this?)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Ibi Zoboi was born in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, and immigrated to the U.S. when she was four years old. She holds an MFA in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, where she was a recipient of the Norma Fox Mazer Award. Her award-winning and Pushcart-nominated writing has been published in Haiti Noir, the Caribbean Writer, the New York Times Book Review, The Horn Book magazine, and The Rumpus, among other publications. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their three children. American Street is her first novel. Visit the author at www.ibizoboi.net.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

American Street 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous 14 days ago
A gorgeous, heartfelt read. Fabiola has such strength and confidence in herself as she navigates Detroit and America for the first time. Her faith and family bonds had me on her side from chapter 1. Loved this story!
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars I have mixed feeling about this novel. I wasn’t expecting what I got when I read this novel. I felt it could have delivered a stronger message but I thought sections of this novels were excellent and I enjoyed Fabiola’s relationships with her cousins. Each of these relationships were unique and they showed something about the character of Fabiola. The novel focuses on Fabiola who arrives in Detroit from Haiti without her mother, Manman. Planning and saving, the two of them were going to stay with Manman’s sister and her daughters who they hadn’t seen in such a long time. Detained in customs, Manman whereabouts are unknown but Fabiola believes in the spirits that she calls upon and in her prayers, that soon they will be safely reunited. I thought that the culture changes for Fabiola as a whole, would materialize through this novel but they were only referred to, in beginning pages of this novel. The noises, the colors, the food, the major culture difference that Fabiola notices that are missing or added to her life now, the author makes a point to mention each one as she experiences them in the beginning pages of this novel but then suddenly she must get used to them because these differences are hardly mentioned throughout the rest of the novel. It isn’t long before Fabiola gets swallowed up into being an American teen. Her cousins wrap her up in their drama, she is casts into high school where peers and fitting in matter, and it isn’t long before boys and romance come into the picture. I wasn’t expecting things to happen so quickly for her and for her feeling to become so intense. The novel is more about Fabiola becoming a teen, the ups and downs, the drama and the dangers when she gets too close to the edge. I wasn’t expecting it to go that far. I expected Fabiola to behave differently but she had gone too far, too fast. I thought the novel would also look at Fabiola and Manman issue(s) and address them, spend time on them but it didn’t happen how I expected. This novel was eventful, I loved many of the characters and I wanted to tie a rope around Fabiola to keep her close to me for I cared for her.
AlexandraOtt More than 1 year ago
This is a stunning and powerful debut. It's full of complex layers, from questions about family relationships and loyalty to those of identity, faith, freedom, and home. Achingly raw yet hopeful, Fabiola's story is not to be missed.
Sarah_UK1 More than 1 year ago
(I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “We will get my Manman. I exhale deep as we leave the airport. It feels like I’m leaving part of me behind – a leg, an arm. My whole heart.” This was a YA contemporary story about a girl newly arrived in America from Haiti. Fabiola was an okay character, and I felt sorry for her the way her mother was detained by customs and she was left to start her life in America without her. The storyline in this was about Fabiola starting her new life in America with her cousins, and learning more about what their lives were really like, and where their money came from. I don’t want to say too much, but Fabiola never stopped fighting for her mother to be released into the states, and did everything she could to make that happen. I did find that the story didn’t hold my interest very well though. The ending to this was okay, and there were realistic consequences for Fabiola’s actions. 6 out of 10