Among the Red Stars

Among the Red Stars

by Gwen C. Katz

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Overview

A suspenseful historical YA debut inspired by the true story of an all-female bomber unit in Russia during World War II.

World War II has erupted in Valka’s homeland of Russia, and Valka is determined to help the effort. She’s a pilot—and a good one—so she eagerly joins an all-female bomber regiment. 

Flying has always meant freedom and exhilaration for Valka, but dropping bombs on German targets is something else entirely. The raids are dangerous, but as Valka watches her fellow pilots putting everything on the line in the face of treachery, she learns the true meaning of bravery.

As the war intensifies, though, and those around her fall, Valka must decide how much she is willing to risk to defend the skies she once called home.

Inspired by the true story of a famous all-female Russian bomber regiment, Gwen C. Katz weaves a tale of strength and sacrifice, of learning to fight for yourself, and of the perils of a world at war.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062642752
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 11/27/2018
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 821,762
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Gwen C. Katz is a writer, artist, game designer, and retired mad scientist easily identified by her crew cut and ability to cause trouble. Originally from Seattle, she now lives in Pasadena, California, with her husband and a revolving door of transient mammals. Visit her at www.gwenckatz.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Among the Red Stars 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Rattle-the-Pages More than 1 year ago
AMONG THE RED STARS has quite possibly been my #1 most anticipated book of 2017 since the second I heard about it. I probably say this a lot, but I LOVE WWII historical fiction. Even better when it's about badass women. And the Russian Night Witches were DEFINITELY badass women. I don't even know where to start with this book. I have been let down by so many of my most anticipated books this year that I was almost scared to start it. But I shouldn't have been worried because it was just as wonderful as I imagined it to be. When Valka hears about an all-women aviation group starting up at the beginning of the war (run by one of her heroes, no less!) she and her cousin, Iskra, hitch a ride to Moscow to sign up. They both make it into Aviation Group 122 and after training, both are assigned to the 588th Night Bomber Regiment, which became known as the Night Witches. The story is told mostly from Valka's point of view, but is also told in letters between Valka and her sweeheart on the front lines, Pasha. This book has so much going for it. The characters are wonderful (and a majority of them were REAL people). I can't think of a single character that I really didn't like in this book. I loved the relationship between Valka and Pasha. Pasha is so shy and sweet. I would like one Pasha for myself, please. I also loved all the friendships built between the women in Aviation Group 122. But as this is a book about the war, there were definitely a few heartbreaking moments. Friends are lost, hard missions are assigned. It can get kinda sad. Is it weird that my favorite part of the book might have been the Author's Note at the end? Yes, you learn a lot from reading the actual book, but I feel like the Author's Notes in historical fiction novels are where you learn the most. The fictional part of the book is fun, but knowing the parts that are real history is so amazing. Especially when it's something that's news to you! Overall, this is SUCH an amazing book! I will never do it justice in a review. I want so badly to word vomit onto this post and tell you every little thing about this book that makes it so so amazing, but if I did that there would be no need for you to read the book and the book is infinitely better than my ramblings. So hopefully I have written just enough to peak your interest to read the book yourself. If you are like me and loooooooove WWII historical fiction, I would HIGHLY recommend this book.
brittanysbookrambles More than 1 year ago
Fierce and heart-pounding -- I have been waiting for a book about The Night Witches for my entire life! This is a story that the world needs and Gwen C. Katz has given us an amazing YA historical fiction version. The female friendships were beautiful and inspiring. This book is just as much about WWII and these phenomenal ladies, as well as love and friendship. It is a fantastic quick read, and I highly recommend it!
YAandWine More than 1 year ago
AMONG THE RED STARS is a gripping new YA historical fiction novel based on the true story of the indomitable and inspirational airwomen the Nazis dubbed the Night Witches. This story of a group of young women risking everything to fight against the Nazi regime is exactly what our world needs right now. This book is a very timely reminder of all the sacrifices men and women across the globe made to try to put an end to genocide and hate. I absolutely fell in love with the characters in this story. Valka is such a smart and fierce young woman, and it was so inspiring to watch her fight to achieve her dreams and to protect the country she loves. Most of the other airwomen in this story are straight out of the history books. Gwen C. Katz did such a phenomenal job incorporating their stories into this book. I was utterly captivated by each of them and would highly recommend hopping online as you're reading this book and learning more about these astounding women as you go. AMONG THE RED STARS also incorporates some important messages about friendship and the importance of women loving and supporting other women, and it includes all these vital messages and themes within a plot that is action-packed, fast-paced, and wholly entertaining. This book is historical fiction at its finest. It not only is a wonderful story in and of itself, but it introduces you to some incredible women from history and inspires you to learn more about them. One of the things I love about historical fiction is that it opens the door for learning and personal growth if readers take the time to dig deeper. I'm so glad I got the opportunity to do so, because my reading experience with this book is one that I will never forget. This book is perfect for fans of CODE NAME VERITY and will certainly be enjoyed by readers of all ages. *I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*