An Unspeakable Hope: Brutality, Forgiveness, and Building a Better Future for My Son

An Unspeakable Hope: Brutality, Forgiveness, and Building a Better Future for My Son

An Unspeakable Hope: Brutality, Forgiveness, and Building a Better Future for My Son

An Unspeakable Hope: Brutality, Forgiveness, and Building a Better Future for My Son

eBook

$14.99
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on May 2, 2023

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

An unforgettable and stirring memoir in the vein of Free Cyntoia, Just Mercy, and The Sum of Us that both inspires and upends our understanding about the future of policing in the United States.

In 2012, nineteen-year-old Leon Ford was shot five times by a Pittsburgh police officer as he was racially profiled during a case of mistaken identity. When he woke up in the hospital, he was faced with two life-changing realities: he was a new father, and he was paralyzed from the waist down.

Now, Ford reveals how he faced these new truths and discovered the power of forgiveness and letting go of his hatred. He explains how his harrowing experience inspired his lifelong commitment to social activism. In the wake of countless similar shootings across the country over the years, he has dedicated himself to bridging the gap between the police and the communities they are supposed to serve.

With his compassionate voice, Ford not only offers fresh, counterintuitive advice for social change but also demonstrates how together, we can end police brutality and heal as a country. As he once said, “Lead with love. Start compassionate conversations even with individuals and systems that have caused you pain. I know from experience that you can make your pain purposeful.”


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781982187293
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication date: 05/02/2023
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: eBook
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 580,091

About the Author

Leon Ford, a native of Pittsburgh, is an award-winning entrepreneur, author, international speaker, community organizer, and activist who has devoted his life to the betterment of his community and ending police brutality. He is the cofounder of The Hear Foundation, an organization that brings community leaders, Pittsburgh police, and residents together to build a safe, thriving community for all.  He executive produced the Cannes Film Festival award-winning documentary Leon in 2019 and is a member of The Aspen Institute’s Inaugural Civil Society Fellowship. Follow him on Twitter @LeonFordSpeaks.

Customer Reviews