Anabasis of Alexander, Volume I: Books 1-4

Anabasis of Alexander, Volume I: Books 1-4

Hardcover(2nd printing/1st pub.1976)

Usually ships within 1 week


Arrian's Anabasis of Alexander in seven books is the best account we have of Alexander's adult life. Indica, a description of India and of Nearchus's voyage therefrom, was to be a supplement.

A student of Epictetus, Arrian took notes at his lectures and published them (in eight books of which we have four, The Discourses) and also the Encheiridion or Manual of Epictetus. Both works are available in the Loeb Epictetus edition.

The Loeb Classical Library edition of Arrian is in two volumes.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780674992603
Publisher: Harvard
Publication date: 01/01/1976
Series: Loeb Classical Library , #236
Edition description: 2nd printing/1st pub.1976
Pages: 640
Sales rank: 372,631
Product dimensions: 4.25(w) x 6.38(h) x (d)

About the Author

Peter Astbury Brunt (1917–2005) was Camden Professor of Ancient History at Oxford University.

Table of Contents



Abbreviations and Short Titles

Anabasis Of Alexander

Book I

Book II

Book III

Book IV


1. The Battle Of The Granicus

2. Naval Operations 334-2

3. Issus

4. Alexander And The Heroes

5. The Visit To Siwah (Iii.3-4)

6. The Revolt Of Agis

7. The Site Of Thapsagus

8. Geographical And Chronological Questions 333-326 BCE

9. Gaugamela

10. Persepolis

11. The Deaths Of Philotas And Parmenio

12. Caspian, Caucasus, Tanais

13. Alexander's Army 331–326

14. Arrian Iv.7, 4–14, 4

15. India And The Persian Empire


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Anabasis of Alexander, Volume I: Books 1-4 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
manirul01 More than 1 year ago
Awesome....!Beautiful....!Wonderful....!I really enjoy it.....!