Anabasis of Alexander, Volume II: Books 5-7. Indica

Anabasis of Alexander, Volume II: Books 5-7. Indica

Hardcover(2nd printing/1st pub.1983)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Arrian's Anabasis of Alexander in seven books is the best account we have of Alexander's adult life. Indica, a description of India and of Nearchus's voyage therefrom, was to be a supplement.

A student of Epictetus, Arrian took notes at his lectures and published them (in eight books of which we have four, The Discourses) and also the Encheiridion or Manual of Epictetus. Both works are available in the Loeb Epictetus edition.

The Loeb Classical Library edition of Arrian is in two volumes.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780674992979
Publisher: Harvard
Publication date: 01/01/1983
Series: Loeb Classical Library , #269
Edition description: 2nd printing/1st pub.1983
Pages: 608
Sales rank: 790,438
Product dimensions: 4.25(w) x 6.38(h) x (d)

About the Author

Peter Astbury Brunt (1917–2005) was Camden Professor of Ancient History at Oxford University.

Table of Contents


Abbreviations And Short Titles

Anabasis Of Alexander

Book V

Book VI

Book VII



16. Dionysus, Heracles And India

17. Indian Questions

18. From Patala To Pura

19. Military Questions

20. Alexander And Indian Sophists

21. Arrian And The Amazons

22. The Embassies At Babylon

23. The Last Phase

24. Prosopographical Data In Arrian

25. Nearchus's Voyages

26. Mesopotamian Rivers

27. Arrian's Speeches And Letters

28. Date And Character Of Arrian's Work


Customer Reviews