Anthology: The History of Peter Frampton

Anthology: The History of Peter Frampton

by Peter Frampton


$12.75 $12.99 Save 2% Current price is $12.75, Original price is $12.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20


Most Peter Frampton collections concentrate simply on his solo career. A&M's 2001 retrospective, Anthology: The History of Peter Frampton, takes a broader view, containing a cut from his first band, the Herd, and five songs from Humble Pie, plus all the solo heavy-hitters from the '70s -- and all in the space of a 16-track single-disc collection. This is a nice tactic, especially since it downplays his famous Frampton Comes Alive (there's only one song from Frampton Comes Alive -- "Show Me the Way." The other big hit from the record, "Baby I Love Your Way," is present in the studio version), thereby offering an introduction not just for the utter neophyte, but for those who only know that blockbuster. Some may argue that all the Humble Pie material takes up space that could have been dedicated to solo cuts, especially since this ignores anything recorded past 1979, but the end result winds up being the lone, concise summation of Frampton's strengths as both a solo artist and guitarist.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/24/2001
Label: A&M
UPC: 0606949082529
catalogNumber: 490825
Rank: 70671


  1. From The Underworld
  2. Natural Born Woman
  3. Live With Me
  4. Shine On
  5. Stone Cold Fever
  6. I Don't Need No Doctor
  7. It's A Plain Shame
  8. All I Want To Be (Is By Your Side)
  9. Lines On My Face
  10. Do You Feel Like We Do
  11. Baby (Something's Happening)
  12. Baby I Love Your Way
  13. Show Me The Way
  14. I'm In You
  15. Signed, Sealed, Delivered (I'm Yours)
  16. I Can't Stand It No More

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Anthology: The History of Peter Frampton 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
ANTHOLOGY in segments: 1. HERD, just one cut, the opener, shows PF as reluctant front man on Herd's 1st UK hit, woefully overproduced with George Martin-like horns and choir, a chestnut almost too Beatlesque, but it's the beginning of a fine ride. 2. HUMBLE PIE, beginning with Natural Born Woman, with its ''Get Back'' guitars copped from Harrison and keyboards swiped from McCartney. Then Live With Me, with mostly Marriott on vocals, sounding like Steve Winwood/Spencer Davis only with MORE soul, thanks to PF's nasty blues twanging. We move to Shine On, in a super-studio version with female singers (!), and the doubling of vocal lines and several lead guitar tracks impossible on stage (not that there's anything wrong with the LIVE version). Finally Stone Cold Fever features Marriott at the mike ala Robert Plant only raspier with a Zep-like blues/rock diddy that shines, and the Fillmore I Don't Need No Dr. that shows up on PF's DETROIT, but will never be better done than by Pie, now that Marriott is in R&R Heaven. In short, a great introduction to where PF has been, and often returns to, simply classically great grooves by a dynamite guitar great. 3. SOLO, with all studio cuts made famous on the LIVE album (except the obligatory Show Me the Way from LIVE). The studio versions in retrospect are superior in production to the LIVE renditions. The drum kit is not sublimated in the studio (compare any track to SMTW and you'll hear what I mean). And stereo effects on guitars and vocals really add to Plain Shame and Baby I Love Your Way. Bottom line, you will fall in love all over again with THESE versions of the tunes you learned LIVE. The REAL reason to buy this CD!!! 4. POST LIVE, the anti-climactic I'm in You (which IS the demo recording remarkably, slightly off key vocal and all) and I Can't Stand It - fun, but not that much. The gem from this sampling is Signed Sealed Delivered, PF making Wonder's song his own (remember Jumpin' Jack?). I would have ended the package with PF's last big break Off the Hook, from DETROIT (Grammy Nominated & lost, drat!), missing in action here. CONCLUSION: an unusually non-pricey and fairly inclusive history lesion that you will enjoy as a prequil of sorts to an amazing live set, and a nice ''morning-after pill'' too!