Aunt Madge and the Civil Election

Aunt Madge and the Civil Election

by Elaine L. Orr
Aunt Madge and the Civil Election

Aunt Madge and the Civil Election

by Elaine L. Orr



Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Aunt Madge is horrified that her Jersey shore town will give big tax breaks to a huge resort. Ocean Alley will be swallowed up in a condo canyon. She runs for mayor to promote sensible progress over massive growth. A lot of people agree with her. Maybe not whoever tried to burn down her garage. Neither she nor her opponent will stoop to low blows, so people are actually talking about the issue. How odd. With the regular Ocean Alley characters, a bunch of laughs, and murder on the side, visit Ocean Alley to find out how it will chart its future.

If this is your first book in the Jolie Gentil series, it’s a bit different than the others. In fact, it’s called an Aunt Madge Story in the Jolie series. In terms of story chronology, it follows "Underground in Ocean Alley" (book 11). In that book, Jolie solves a murder while Aunt Madge happens to be running for mayor of Ocean Alley.

In "Aunt Madge and The Civil Election," events of the crime-solving are muted and the campaign is the focus. If that sounds boring, be assured there is plenty going on, with much of the usual dry humor. I wanted readers to have the story of Aunt Madge’s campaign. It’s told from her point of view rather than Jolie’s, without spoiling the mystery in "Underground in Ocean Alley," should you choose to read it.

This is a 17,000 word "long short story."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940164299026
Publisher: Elaine L. Orr
Publication date: 10/30/2020
Series: Jolie Gentil Cozy Mystery Series , #24
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 73,075
File size: 223 KB

About the Author

Elaine L. Orr writes four mystery series, including the eleven-book Jolie Gentil cozy mystery series. Behind the Walls was a finalist for the 2014 Chanticleer Mystery and Mayhem Awards. The first book in her River's Edge series, From Newsprint to Footprints, came out in late 2015, and the Logland series began with Tip a Hat to Murder in 2016. The 2020 Family History Mystery Series began with Least Trodden Ground. Demise of a Devious Neighbor, the second River's Edge book, was a Chanticleer finalist in 2017. Elaine also writes plays and novellas, including the one-act play, Common Ground published in 2015.

Her novella, Falling into Place, tells the story of a family managing the results of an Iowa father’s World War II experience with humor and grace. Another novella, Biding Time, was one of five finalists in the National Press Club's first fiction contest, in 1993. In the Shadow of Light is the fictional story of children separated from their mother at the US/Mexico border. Elaine conducts presentations and teaches online classes on book publishing and other writing-related topics. Nonfiction includes Words to Write By: Getting Your Thoughts on Paper and Writing When Time is Scarce. She graduated from the University of Dayton and the American University. A member of Sisters in Crime and the Indiana Writers Center, Elaine grew up in Maryland and moved to the Midwest in 1994.

Her fiction and nonfiction are at all online retailers in all formats -- ebooks, paperbacks, large print, and (on Amazon, itunes, and audio in digital form. Support your local bookstore!

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items