An Autobiography

An Autobiography

by Agatha Christie

Paperback(Reprint)

$19.79 $21.99 Save 10% Current price is $19.79, Original price is $21.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Overview

Back in print in an all-new edition, is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the “Queen of Mystery.” Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran’s fascinating biographies Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world’s most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style. The New York Times Book Review calls Christie’s autobiography a “joyful adventure,” saying, “she brings the sense of wonder...to her extraordinary career.”

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062204578
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/11/2012
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 576
Sales rank: 128,211
Product dimensions: 8.80(w) x 6.00(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Agatha Christie is the most widely published author of all time, outsold only by the Bible and Shakespeare. Her books have sold more than a billion copies in English and another billion in a hundred foreign languages. She died in 1976, after a prolific career spanning six decades.

Date of Birth:

September 15, 1890

Date of Death:

January 12, 1976

Place of Birth:

Torquay, Devon, England

Education:

Home schooling

Table of Contents

DAME AGATHA CHRISTIE opens the door to her fascinating and colorful life...

Her mysteries made her the world's bestselling author, but her private life has remained hidden for decades.Now, in her own words, Dame Agatha sheds light on her secretive life and tells of her early years in Victorian England; her marriages and world travels; her rise to success; the creative process behind her acclaimed novels and plays; and the events, places, and people that shaped her work.

Every fan of Agatha Christie will delight in the engaging chronicle of this remarkable woman of mystery.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

An Autobiography 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
BFGreene More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed reading Agatha Christie Mysteries for years. This book let me see into the life of an author and what influenced her. She had very interesting life experiences, particularly the archaeology work with her husband. BFGreene
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a big Agatha Christie fan, I thoroughly enjoyed this book! To have insight into how and when some of her various books were written was truly enjoyable. And the added insight into her life, both the good and bad parts, was an added bonus.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved her thrillers and mysteries forever, but to now get to know her as a person is fascinating. Only Agatha Christie could have written such a wonderful autobiography. Amazingly, it reads like one her classic tales.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quite enjoyable...especially the idea that Mrs. Christie would just write on this autobiography and then evidently lay it down for some time....picking up again later. I believe they said over 15 years...A little disconcerting at times, unless you realize that, Good read!
jonyjrslm More than 1 year ago
NOT a mystery, an autobiography, and at the same time, a marvelous history of the values of the West as they have changed from ca 1900 to 1975....
exlibrisemk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An invaluable addition to the library of a Christie fan, her somewhat rambling autobiography gives the reader a glimpse of the author as the woman behind the mysteries, as well as descriptions of the background events in her life during her career.
mountie9 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Good StuffDelightful charming read Fascinating stories of Agatha's life Learned so much about life during the war in England Interesting historical information Enjoyed the chapter where Agatha talks about the production of going swimming as a girl and a women in Victorian England Very wise and accurate observations of life Was actually quite surprised how intriguing of a read it was, had a hard time putting it down on a couple of occasions Absolutley flabergasted that she really never had an inkling that she wanted to be an author until quite far along in her life Extremely funny at times Very respectful of her ex husband which is extremely classy Will be buying a finished copy with the bonus CD (hoping there are pictures in the finished copy as well) Honestly this was just like sitting down and having her tell you the story of her life - just felt very personal and honest. I have never read an Agatha Christie book before, and now think I will be picking up a couple of them as I was so impressed by her autobiography Was intrigued by all the travelling she did and especially of the times she spent with her husband on Archeaology digs -- truly fascinating She just has such a postive hopeful attitude towards life in all its ups and downs, it was just so inspiring to read The Not So Good StuffAlmost too squeaky clean at times and obviously leaves out some interesting passages of her life. That being said I wouldn't want to air my dirty laundry either, but for the reader they might be disappointed by this Drags a wee bit Favorite Quotes/Passages"I loved 'Problems'. Thought merely sums in diguise, they had an intriguing flavour. 'John has five apples, George has six; if John gave away two of George's apples, how many will George have at the end of the day?' and so on. Nowadays, thinking of that problem, I feel an urge to reply; "Depends on how fond of apples George is.""One cannot, ever, go back to the place which exists in momory. You would not see it with the same eyes-even supposing that it should improbably have remained much the same. What you have had you have had. 'The happy highways where I went, And shall not come again...' Never go back to a place where you have been happy. Until you do it remains alive for you. If you go back it will be destroyed.""Lake Louise was for a long time my answer when I was asked which was the most beautiful place I had ever seen: - a great, long blue lake, low mountains on either side, all of a most glorious shape, closing in with snow mountains at the end of it."" We are all the same people as we were at three, six, ten or twenty years old. More noticebly so, perhaps, at six or seven, because we were not pretending so much then, whereas at twenty we put on a show of being someone else, of being in the mode of the moment. If there is an intellectual fashion, you become an intellectual; if girls are fluffy and frivolous, you are fluffy and frivolous. As life goes on, however, it becomes tiring to keep up the character you invented for yourself, and so you relapse into individuality and become more like yourself everyday."Who Should/Shouldn't ReadObviously fans of Agatha Christie will enjoy Perfect for those who know nothing about her and want to learn something Quite frankly most readers will get something from this Those with an interest in Victorian England will find tons of interesting tidbits 4.25 Dewey'sI received this from HarperCollins in exchange for an Honest
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book as a Christmas gift for my sister who loves biographies. I believe she'll enjoy this book since she also is a fan of Agatha Chrisiti and her creative writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love agatha christie! I have a book report to do on biographies and autobiographies....should i do this book plz comment