Been There, Married That: A Novel

Been There, Married That: A Novel

by Gigi Levangie

NOOK Book(eBook)

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

In a world where therapists look like the Real Housewives of Equinox, where friends dispense Xanax like Pez, and where a woman’s status is directly linked to the how few carbs she eats…can one Hollywood wife take back her life?

Agnes Murphy Nash is in big trouble. When she returns home one evening only to find the locks changed on the gates of their mansion, the security guard breaks the news: her famous producer husband has filed for divorce. And he’s not going to play fair. Trevor Nash wants custody of their tween daughter, Pep, but only for the sake of appearances. And Agnes can’t let him win.

With the help of her ex-con sister, a Hollywood psychic, a ballsy female lawyer, and a host of friends and “frenemies,” Agnes realizes that when he changes the locks, she needs to change the rules. But a crisis can lead to opportunity, and for Agnes, this gigantic betrayal brings her to a crossroads that will have her asking herself what she really wants out of life, who she really wants to be, and which man she really loves.

Told with Gigi Levangie’s sparkling dialogue and wit, Been There, Married That is a drop-dead hilarious battle of wills that will make you laugh out loud, cringe, and keep turning the pages to see what crazy disaster will happen to Agnes next…and how she’ll rise from the ashes.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

11/11/2019

In Levangie’s rollicking latest (after Seven Deadlies), divorce turns into blood sport for Agnes Murphy Nash, a Hollywood author who must regroup when her powerful movie producer husband Trevor decides he doesn’t “want to marriage anymore.” Trevor is not only a no-show to her book launch party, but Agnes must hop the gate to their home after discovering the code has been changed, only to get tased on the other side. After Trevor cancels Agnes’s credit cards, tries to sell the house out from under her, and gets her shipped off to rehab for her almond habit, it’s time for Agnes to lawyer up. Trevor and Agnes’s cat-and-mouse game soars to ridiculous heights, and when Agnes’s delightful jailbird sister Fin comes to stay, she’s more than happy to help Agnes drive the childish and neurotic Trevor out of his wits. However, things get serious when Trevor tries to take sole custody of their 11-year-old daughter, Pep. Screenwriter Levangie has a keen insight into the inner workings, and foibles, of the Hollywood elite, and her sharp, canny wit drives her mile-a-minute prose and spares no one. Agnes’s voice is wry and funny, and there’s just enough pathos about her to keep the more farcical elements in check. Readers looking for a fast, laugh-out-loud romp will find much to enjoy. 75,000-copy announced first printing. (Feb.)

From the Publisher

One of PopSugar's "22 of the Best Books Winter Has to Offer"

Praise for Been There, Married That:


"A hilarious satire." —PopSugar

"Rollicking.... Readers looking for a fast, laugh-out-loud romp will find much to enjoy." —Publishers Weekly

Praise for Gigi Levangie:

“Levangie's entertaining satire is sure to spice up any occasion.”—Publishers Weekly

“Hilariously funny and profoundly wise, The After Wife is for anyone who’s ever been married or widowed, in debt or in love. I could not put it down: a fabulous read!”—Nancy Thayer, author of Island Girls

“Fans of Lolly Winston, Mary Kay Andrews, and Jennifer Weiner will especially enjoy Levangie.”—Booklist

Library Journal

12/01/2019

Agnes Murphy Nash comes from humble beginnings, but she has managed to turn herself into the perfect Hollywood wife. The world revolves around her husband, Oscar-winning producer Trevor Nash, and every decision Agnes makes, from the bedsheets to whom she lunches with, is in service to his ego. But Trevor wants to divorce Agnes, because he is no longer happy, whatever that means. They have a daughter, and she is the unwitting pawn, also known as "leverage," in this divorce. Agnes is more self-aware than many of her contemporaries; she realizes she is living in a bubble, but she likes it there. We get to read her every thought, and she has them at a dizzying pace, making this a quick read—at times humorous, but mostly just exhausting. VERDICT The level of Hollywood narcissism shown in Levangie's (The Starter Wife; The After Wife) novel is astounding and makes it hard to empathize with or even believe the characters in this marital farce. For fans of the Kardashians, The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills, and frothy celebrity memoirs.—Stacy Alesi, Eugene M. & Christine E. Lynn Lib., Lynn Univ., Boca Raton, FL

Kirkus Reviews

2019-09-30
A Hollywood divorce with all the trimmings: luxury real estate, lawyers, TMZ, plastic surgery, an Oscar, and a night in jail.

It begins at the narrator's 48th birthday party, where her A-list movie star husband, Trevor, toasts her…work ethic. "My fertility is on its last heaving throes, my eggs scrambled and crapping out, waving the white maxi pad. All that's left for me is flushing and sweat. Soon, I will be all dried out, a human tumbleweed, rolling along Sunset Boulevard to guzzle martinis at the Polo Lounge," she says. Rushing along in a torrent of inner monologue, snappy dialogue, puns, memes, and wisecracks, the narrator of Levangie's (Seven Deadlies, 2013, etc.) latest goes from the birthday celebration to a book party with signature cocktails called "Tres Deadlies" and "Deadlies on Arrival"—suggesting that the author, a former Hollywood wife herself, knows whereof she speaks. When the narrator gets home, she finds the code to the gate of her "mid-century California ranch-style estate in the famed Palisades Riviera" has been changed. After she climbs over, the guard, ordered to keep her out, tasers her. "I'm putting this marriage in turnaround," announces the extremely self-absorbed Trevor. "You know, like when I had that cartel project I was really in love with but then we couldn't get Guillermo to direct and then I kind of fell out of love and I fired everybody?" The narrator digs in her heels—after all, she needs a place to raise her daughter, Pep, hide her ex-con sister, Fin, and entertain her book club, currently reading "a multigenerational family saga set in the Burmese mountains in the winter of 1806, written by a queer-leaning Bangladeshi paraplegic." This means war.

A high-thread-count sheet of jokes swathing a plot as slender as its eating-challenged narrator.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250166821
Publisher: St. Martin's Publishing Group
Publication date: 02/11/2020
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 240,407
File size: 2 MB

Customer Reviews