Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy Series #1)

Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy Series #1)

by Celine Kiernan

NOOK Book(eBook)

$0.99 $7.99 Save 88% Current price is $0.99, Original price is $7.99. You Save 88%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


When witches kidnap her dad, Mup is swept up in a wild tide of magic that carries her to another world. Can she reunite her family and find her way back?

On the night that Aunty dies, the raggedy witches come for Mup’s family. Pale, cold, and relentless, the witches will do anything for the tyrannical queen who has outlawed most magic and enforces her laws with terror and cruelty — and who happens to be Mup’s grandmother. When witches carry off her dad, Mup and her mam leave the mundane world to rescue him. But everything is odd in the strange, glittering Witches Borough, even Mam. Even Mup herself. In a world of rhyming crows, talking cats, and golden forests, it’s all Mup can do to keep her wits about her. And even if she can save her dad, Mup’s not sure if anything will ever be the same again. First in a new trilogy by Irish author Celine Kiernan, this tale of family and forbidden magic charts a fresh path through the landscape of beloved fantasy tradition — and promises to bewitch any reader in search of stories to love.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781536204872
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Publication date: 09/11/2018
Series: Wild Magic Trilogy Series , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 12,943
Lexile: 710L (what's this?)
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Celine Kiernan is the award-winning author of several novels for young people, including Into the Grey, which won the Children’s Books Ireland Book of the Year Award, and the Moorehawke trilogy. Celine Kiernan lives in Ireland.

Celine Kiernan is an award-winning author of fantasy novels for young adults. Her critically acclaimed work combines fantasy elements with the exploration of political, humanitarian, and philosophical themes. She is best known for the Moorehawke Trilogy, a dark, complex trilogy of fantasy YA books set in an alternative Renaissance Europe. First published in Celine’s native Ireland in 2008, the trilogy has since been published in fifteen different territories and translated into ten languages. In 2009 the first book of the trilogy, The Poison Throne, won the Reading Association of Ireland Children’s Book Award, was included in the White Raven Collection, and was short-listed for the 2009 Irish Book Awards in two categories (Best Newcomer and Best Children’s Book). In 2010 it was long-listed for an Australian Silver Inky Award.

Celine’s fourth novel, Into the Grey (published in Australia under the title Taken Away), a YA ghost story set in 1970s Ireland, won the 2012 Children’s Books Ireland Book of the Year and the Children’s Books Ireland Children’s Choice Award. It is the first book to have won both categories. It won the Reading Association of Ireland Chidren’s Book Award in 2013 and was nominated for the Sakura Medal in 2014. In 2013 the Irish Times named it as one of the best children’s books of the past twenty-five years.

Born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1967, Celine has spent the majority of her working life in the film business. Her career as a classical feature character animator spanned more than seventeen years before she became a full-time writer.

Customer Reviews