Berlin: A Novel

Berlin: A Novel

by Pierre Frei, Anthea Bell
4.3 7

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.49 $14.99 Save 23% Current price is $11.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 23%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Berlin: A Novel by Pierre Frei

Set in a devastated Berlin one month after the close of the Second World War, Berlin has been acclaimed as “ambitious . . . filled with brilliantly drawn characters, mesmerizingly readable, and disturbingly convincing” by the Sunday Telegraph. An electrifying thriller in the tradition of Joseph Kanon and Alan Furst, Berlin is a page-turner and an intimate portrait of Germany before, during, and after the war. It is 1945 in the American sector of occupied Berlin, and a German boy has discovered the body of a beautiful young woman in a subway station. Blonde and blue-eyed, she has been sexually assaulted and strangled with a chain. When the bodies of other young women begin to pile up it becomes clear that this is no isolated act of violence, and German and American investigators will have to cooperate if they are to stop the slaughter. Author Pierre Frei has searched the wreckage of Berlin and emerged with a gripping whodunit in which the stories of the victims themselves provide an absorbing commentary. There is a powerful pulse buried deep in the rubble.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781555848170
Publisher: Grove/Atlantic, Inc.
Publication date: 12/01/2007
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 181,592
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

PIERRE FREI was born in 1930 and grew up in Berlin. He has worked as a foreign correspondent in Rome, Cairo, New York, and London.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Berlin 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
William_BN More than 1 year ago
I love a good storyteller. The plot in this book is utterly insignificant to the story itself. You will meet five women who are smart, sexy, witty and inventive survivors while at the same time giving you a feel for what it was like to be a German living in Berlin during the period from about 1933 to 1945. I wish I could have met five more. You will also follow a young conniving teen obsessed with two objects of his desire. This is a book for that long cross country plan ride, that rainy or snowed in weekend. Relax settle back and enjoy. This is not a heavy, mysterious or cumbersome read. This is escapism. Lose yourself in this book and you will thoroughly enjoy the time spent.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be totally captivating. It is not just a who donit, but a story of the women who were murdered. It gave character and humanity to them they were not just victims. I enjoyed it thoroughly and have recommeded the book to many of my patrons.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It has been awhile since I have read this book, maybe 7 years, but it's a book I still think about. The story caught me from the beginning and never let go. I enjoy historical fiction, especially WWll stories but this gave such a unique encounter. Each story was intriguing in its own right. I recommend if you enjoy a good murder mystery that holds your attention till the bitter end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cynrunner More than 1 year ago
The author is indeed talented creating his characters. Loved learning about each one but then they each would get brutally killed for no rhyme or reason. The same theme followed throughout the whole entire book. Too bad he did not take just one or two of the characters and create a "whole" story about their lives. Would have loved to read a coherent story about these people's lives back then because this writer is really a good writer! I was disappointed and would not recommend this book to anyone. Sorry.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent mystery by a fine writer LLL
Guest More than 1 year ago
Excellent. Grabs your attention right from the start and doesn't let you go. The description of post war Berlin mixed with investigators'search for a serial killer makes this definitely worth reading.