BLACK

BLACK

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

BLACK by Donya Lynne, Reese Dante

Micah Black thought he was the last of his bloodline. He was wrong. Dead wrong.

Micah just found out he has a brother. Ronan, the cat burglar who broke into his apartment and stole the ankh he'd been entrusted to protect, has turned out to be none other than his own flesh and blood. But that's not the only revelation he uncovers about his family. After centuries of thinking his father was killed during the war, he learns that his father is alive. Still suffering the loss of Micah's mother, his beloved mate, but alive.

The discoveries continue to pile up as more tightly held secrets and shocking surprises come to light, upending Micah's world, sending him into a whirlwind of emotions and memories of war, love, and death. But it's what King Bain reveals that throws Micah for the biggest loop. One that will chart a new path for Micah's future and change the course of the coming war between the vampires and the drecks forever.

In the much-anticipated eighth book of the emotionally-wrenching, heart-stopping All the King's Men Series, you see Micah as you've never seen him before. You will meet new characters pivotal to the survival--and hearts--of the characters you've come to love. Aliases will be revealed, alliances will be formed, and new enemies exposed as paranormal forces converge in a battle to decide who will ultimately rule humanity.

Recommended for fans of J.R. Ward, Lara Adrian, Kresley Cole.

Books in the AKM Series, in reading order:
Rise of the Fallen
Heart of the Warrior
Micah's Calling
Rebel Obsession
Return of the Assassin
All the King's Men - The Beginning
Bound Guardian Angel
BLACK

Product Details

BN ID: 2940158584749
Publisher: Phoenix Press
Publication date: 09/12/2017
Series: All the King's Men , #8
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 325
Sales rank: 22,589
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Donya Lynne is the bestselling author of the award winning All the King's Men and Strong Karma Series and a member of Romance Writers of America. Making her home in a wooded suburb north of Indianapolis with her husband, Donya has lived in Indiana most of her life and knew at a young age she was destined to be a writer. She started writing poetry in grade school and won her first short story contest in fourth grade. In junior high, she began writing romantic stories for her friends, and by her sophomore year, she’d been dubbed Most Likely to Become a Romance Novelist. In 2012, she fulfilled her dream by publishing her first two novels and a novella. In 2016, she began writing serialized novels under the pen name, Dick Hertz. Her work has earned her two IPPYs, five eLit Awards, a USA Today Recommended Read, and numerous accolades. In October and November of 2015, she had two books hit the Smashwords Top 25 Bestsellers list. When she’s not writing, she can be found cheering on the Indianapolis Colts or doing her cats’ bidding.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

BLACK 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous 12 days ago
Worth the wait & love the new storyline
Ever_Rayne 13 days ago
I've been trying to find the words to describe how amazingly awesome this book is! Let me start by saying, rarely do I give ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️, but HOLY COW!!! This book blew me away! It deserves every single one and more! From the beginning, I've been captivated. I've been in a serious reading funk, and let me tell you guys, this book has brought me out of it. It has literally rekindled my love of reading. Donya's words, continued world building, twists and turns, and every thing else, kept me on the edge of my seat, wanting more. With every flick of my wrist, my jaw dropped or I would start laughing hysterically. And I didn't care if anyone looked at me weird. What you can expect from this book is a roller coaster of emotions. Not only your own, but those of the characters as well. Poor Micah has a lot on his plate. Learning his father is still alive is only a fraction of the shit hitting the proverbial fan. Add to that the introduction of the lycans, and one hell of a reveal from King Bain, it's a wonder how anyone can stay sane! Speaking of King Bain, I have never known him to be sexy until now. He nearly does a 360 that I did not see coming! Ah-mazing! You will not be disappointed with this book! You truly outdid yourself with this one Donya, I absolutely loved it!
Sandy-thereadingcafe 13 days ago
4.5 stars--engaging, entertaining and revealing 4.5 stars--BLACK is the eighth installment in Donya Lynne’s contemporary, adult ALL THE KING’S MEN paranormal, romance series focusing on a group of vampire warriors, who work for AKM -a group of elite vampire warriors and mutant vampires brought together to save the humans and rid the world of the drecks- hybrid vampire shape shifters. This is Micah Black and the Black family’s continuing story, a story that changes the series arc shifting the focus on a new threat to the world of the vampire. SOME BACKGROUND: The destructive and addictive nature of the vampire designer drug ‘cobalt’ has brought the drecks to the AKM’s front door. Each overdose pushes another vampire closer to the edge, and pulls the AKM vampire warriors further into a war that could potentially destroy everything and everyone they love. Told from several third person points of view including Micah Black BLACK follows the latest in a series of revelations including the discovery that Micah’s father, Drake Black, a man Micah thought dead for close to a thousand years, was alive, and with it comes the introduction of a half-brother he never knew existed. As the war between the drecks and the vampires escalates with each cobalt overdose and vampire death, Ronan Black-Micah’s brother-goes rogue fighting a battle he has no hope of winning. A new species of werewolf will push one-time enemies together, and Micah’s true heritage will come full circle with King Bain’s latest revelations, offering Micah a new direction in his professional and personal life. BLACK is a story line of family; of the fractured family dynamics between father and sons; the heartbreaking losses, and the potential ramifications of too many secrets and lies. With the introduction of the werewolves and lycans, Donya Lynne takes the AKM series in a new direction, with a more potent and serious threat to her beloved vampires. Ronan’s mate is but a dream away; and a lycan tracker discovers the who and what he has been looking (for). The premise is engaging, entertaining and revealing; the characters are spirited, edgy and energetic; the romance between Samantha and Micah is provocative and intense. BLACK introduces the reader to a newly, determined King , and with it the formation of a more aggressive team desperate not to go to war.
debbiereadsbook 13 days ago
Independent reviewer for Archaeolibrarian, I was gifted my copy of this book. This is book 8 in the series, and for this to make much sense, you must, I mean MUST read the others. Because they are awesome, and much happened in those books that is referenced here but not fully explained. And I told you to, okay?? Jumping straight in. Because wooooooeeeeeee! Ms Lynne did throw some curve balls!! Micah found out in Bound Guardian Angel that he has a brother, Ronan and that his father is alive, not dead like he though these 950 years. BUT here?? He founds out much more. He finds out his family tree, who he is related to and how. He finds out that seemingly impossible things really can happen. He finds out the Drecks have been doing much more than making cobalt blue to destroy the vampires, and that he is going to need some help to remove this new threat. Enter stage right, The Lycans! These guys are BIG news, they have been aware of this new threat but trying to contain it. However, Ronan's antics with the ankh he stole from Micah have forced them to come clean. These guys are gonna be an awesome addition to this world, I know it. I'm being deliberately vague in what I'm saying, I know I am but this book is FULL of massive spoilers and I don't want to ruin it for you. But let me tell ya, its an A-MA-ZING read! One sitting, I read it in one sitting. Some things I saw coming, some I did not. Some things came from WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY out the left field. I also saw some pairings, that maybe haven't been discussed before. That I wanna see if I'm right. Can't wait for the next one! Ms Lynne spends a lot, and I mean a LOT of time after writing her books, tidying them up, editing, editing and MORE editing, and as a reader, its frustrating having to wait so long between books. BUT also as a reader, it makes you appreciate the finished product, and this one really is FLAWLESS. All the major players have a say, and ya'll know how much I love that, even the Lycans and they really are so very very different. Can't wait for more of them! Kind of a cliff hanger ending, but in a way only Ms Lynne can delivery. 5 full stars **same worded review will appear elsewhere**