Booked for Death: A Booklover's B&B Mystery

Booked for Death: A Booklover's B&B Mystery

by Victoria Gilbert

NOOK Book(eBook)

$1.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books, Victoria Gilbert embarks with a new series for perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell.

A book lover's B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder--and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth.

Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader's paradise. Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating books, genres, and authors. It's the perfect literary retreat--until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey.

The victim's daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains. Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises.

Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt's name. But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer's death. Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer--or end up writing her own final chapter.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

04/20/2020

The action of this charming series launch from Gilbert (the Blue Ridge Library mysteries) takes place mainly at Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast, an inn in Beaufort, N.C., that hosts literary events. The owner, former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, recently inherited the place from its founder, her great-aunt Isabella Harrington. In the library, during a celebration of mystery author Josephine Tey, Charlotte runs into rare book dealer Lincoln Delamont, who tells Charlotte that he’s unearthed a family secret—Isabella, a former maid, purchased rare volumes for the B&B with ill-gotten gains. He implies that he’ll reveal the secret, which is news to Charlotte, and cause a scandal unless she sells him valuable books for next to nothing. When Delamont’s body is later discovered in the carriage house, the book dealer’s 16-year-old daughter is certain Charlotte killed her father to silence him. Charlotte sets out to clear her name, ably abetted by a neighbor with her own intriguing past. The stakes rise as more suspects and another big secret come to light. Cozy fans and book lovers will be satisfied. Agent: Frances Black, Arts Counsel. (June)

From the Publisher

Praise for Booked for Death:
“[A] charming series launch...Cozy fans and book lovers will be satisfied."
Publishers Weekly

“A clever, sympathetic heroine and oodles of local color.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Gilbert introduces an intelligent, mature amateur sleuth, and a shrewd elderly sidekick in the first in a character-driven cozy series. The leisurely paced mystery offers complex characters with well-developed backgrounds and motives. Readers of Ellery Adams’s Book Retreat mysteries will appreciate this new series.” 
Library Journal

“All of the hallmarks of a cozy.”
Booklist

“Intellectually challenging...A solid addition to a popular cozy category.”
New York Journal of Books

“A brilliant beginning for a cozy series.”
San Francisco Book Review

“An enjoyable read with many interesting characters and twists and turns.”
MyShelf

—BookPage

“A new favorite cozy mystery series...I cannot wait for the next book.”
—Fresh Fiction

“Interesting characters, a great setting and a fun story make this an enjoyable read.”
Red Carpet Crash

“Holds reader interest from the first pages to the last with a mixture of family history, legend, duplicity, stealth, and audacity.”
Midwest Book Review

Kirkus Reviews

2020-03-15
Historic Beaufort, North Carolina, is the beautiful backdrop for an ugly murder.

High school teacher Charlotte Reed has inherited Chapters, a big, literary-themed B&B, from her great-aunt Isabella just in time to get a fresh start after the tragic death of her husband. She’s planned a special week for her guests featuring the work of British mystery writer Josephine Tey, so she's deeply disturbed when one of those guests, the obnoxious book dealer Lincoln Delamont, hints that Isabella got the money to buy Chapters by nefarious means. When Delamont is found stabbed to death in Chapters’ carriage house, leaving behind many suspects, Charlotte decides she'd better look into Isabella's past. Charlotte’s friend Julie had mentioned a secret boyfriend who, much to Charlotte’s dismay, turned out to be Delamont, whose wife had endured years of his bad behavior. Then Delamont's teenage daughter accuses Charlotte of killing him because of what he knew about Isabella. After Charlotte finds a diary written in code among her aunt's belongings in the attic, she approaches her neighbor Ellen Montgomery, a friend of Isabella's who’s reluctant to say much about her history. Even if the answer to the mystery lies buried in the past, it may not be the past Charlotte’s exploring.

A mystifying debut featuring a clever, sympathetic heroine and oodles of local color.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781643853284
Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Publication date: 08/11/2020
Series: A BOOKLOVER'S B&B MYSTERY , #1
Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 8,543
File size: 2 MB

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews