Break to You

Break to You

Break to You

Break to You

Hardcover

$19.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Love can grow anywhere, even in a juvenile detention center. Break to You is an epic love story, totally perfect for fans of John Green and Ned Vizzini.

Bestselling author of Scythe and Challenger Deep Neal Shusterman, here with coauthors Debra Young and Michelle Knowlden, tells an intense yet tender story of two teens, trapped in impossible circumstances and unjust systems, willing to risk everything for love—no matter the consequences.

Adriana knows that if she can manage to keep her head down for the next seven months, she might be able to get through her sentence in the Compass juvenile detention center. Thankfully, she’s allowed to keep her journal, where she writes down her most private thoughts when her feelings get too big.

Until the day she opens her journal and discovers that her thoughts are no longer so private. Someone has read her writings—and has written back. A boy who lives on the other side of the gender-divided detention center. A boy who sparks a fire in her to write back.

Jon’s story is different than Adriana’s; he’s already been at Compass for years and will be in the system for years to come. Still, when he reads the words Adriana writes to him, it makes him feel like the walls that hold them in have melted away.

This fast-paced, highly compelling tour de force novel exposes what life is like in detention—and reveals the hearts of two teens who are forced to live in desperate circumstances. 


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062875761
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 07/02/2024
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 25,650
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.00(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

About The Author
Neal Shusterman is the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of more than fifty books, including Challenger Deep, which won the National Book Award; Scythe, a Michael L. Printz Honor Book; Dry, which he cowrote with his son, Jarrod Shusterman; Unwind, which won more than thirty domestic and international awards; Bruiser, which was on a dozen state lists; The Schwa Was Here, winner of the Boston GlobeHorn Book Award; and Game Changer, which debuted as an indie top-five best seller. He is the winner of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for the body of his work. You can visit him online at storyman.com.


Debra Young wrote fantasy, science fiction, and horror. She published stories in The Horror Zine, Dark Fire Fiction, Swords and Sorcery magazine, and Black Fox Literary Magazine and was the author of Grave Shadows, a story anthology. Sadly, she passed away due to complications from lupus in 2024.


Once a space shuttle engineer and extreme hiker, Michelle Knowlden now writes full-time. The Shamus Award nominee’s stories have appeared in Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, Amazing Stories, Daily Science Fiction, and Neal Shusterman’s UnBound and Gleanings anthologies. Her books include the Abishag Mysteries quartet, the Deluded Detective series, the Faith Interrupted Cozy Mysteries, Her Last Mission, and the 1930s novella The Admiral of Signal Hill. Under the name Michelle Dutton, she wrote the fantasy series Ravenscar Shifters and the historical romance Lillian in the Doorway. She splits her time between riverboats and the Arizona highlands with family, friends, and an Icelandic sponge named Marino.  

 

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews