Bruckner: Symphony No. 8

Bruckner: Symphony No. 8

by Benjamin M. Korstvedt

Paperback(New Edition)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Anton Bruckner's Eighth Symphony (1890), one of the last of the great Romantic symphonies, is a grandly complex masterpiece. This book explores this many-faceted work from several angles. It documents the complicated and often misunderstood history of the symphony's composition and revision and provides an accessible guide to its musical design. It demonstrates, by means of a study of well-known recordings, how performance styles have evolved in this century. It also revisits the conventional wisdom about the various versions and editions of the symphony and comes to some provocative new conclusions.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780521635370
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 03/30/2000
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 148
Product dimensions: 5.47(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.35(d)
Lexile: 1650L (what's this?)

Table of Contents

Introduction; 1. Placing the Eighth Symphony; 2. The genesis and evolution of the Eighth Symphony; 3. Symphonic design and musical logic; 4. The Adagio and the sublime; 5. The 1887 version and the 1890 version; 6. The 1892 edition, authorship, and performance practice; Appendix A. Haas's edition of the Eighth Symphony; Appendix B. Textual differences between the Finale in the 1890 version and the 1892 version.

Customer Reviews