Buried in a Good Book

Buried in a Good Book

by Tamara Berry

Narrated by Tanya Eby

Unabridged — 8 hours, 4 minutes

Buried in a Good Book

Buried in a Good Book

by Tamara Berry

Narrated by Tanya Eby

Unabridged — 8 hours, 4 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$8.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$34.99 Save 74% Current price is $8.99, Original price is $34.99. You Save 74%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $8.99 $34.99

Overview

Bestselling thriller writer Tess Harrow is almost at the end of her rope when she arrives with her teenage daughter at her grandfather's rustic cabin in the woods. She hopes this will be a time for them to heal and bond after Tess's recent divorce, but they've barely made it through the door when an explosion shakes the cabin. Suddenly it's raining fish guts and...is that a human arm? Tess was hardly convincing Gertie that a summer without wi-fi and running water would be an adventure. Now she's thrust into a murder investigation, neighbors are saying they've spotted Bigfoot in the woods near her cabin, and the local sheriff is the spitting image of her character Detective Gabriel Gonzales-something he's less than thrilled about. With so much more than her daughter's summer plans at stake, it's up to Tess to solve this case before anyone else gets hurt.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Aunt Agatha's Best of: Cozies 2022



"I love this book…A murder, a short list of suspects and wild sightings plague this enticingly intriguing whodunit." — Dru’s Book Musings

"This first in series is truly original, funny, and well written. A real standout. " — Mystery Scene

"It’s a slapstick comedy of murder…fans of quirky small-town cozies, such as Joan Hess’s “Maggody” mysteries, might want to try this." — Library Journal

Whimsy meets woodsy.

Library Journal - Audio

★ 09/01/2022

In this work, best-selling author Tess Harrow travels to rural Oregon seeking solace but finds something much more sinister. When a local blast fisherman sends body parts raining down on her cabin, she and her daughter are swept up in a small-town scandal of epic proportions. Tess's wandering writer's imagination is too much for the local no-nonsense sheriff, but when faced with bobcats, Bigfoot, and bookmobiles, it's tough to keep her fanciful ideas in check. Are her amateur investigative skills enough to keep her from becoming the next victim? In this first installment of her "By the Book" series, author Berry ("Eleanor Wilde" series) crafts an engaging and entertaining murder mystery. Tess's woolgathering serves as a parallel narrative as she turns peril into plot points. Narrator Tanya Eby's expressive tone matches well with the offbeat and intelligent writing style. The no-frills audio experience allows Eby to expertly enhance the humor and suspense using only her voice. VERDICT This audio will appeal to listeners seeking a cozy mystery that is compelling, comical, and clever. Recommended for fans of Ann Purser, Elizabeth Blake, and Avery Aames.—Lauren Hackert

Library Journal

05/01/2022

In this new series opener by Berry (creator of the "Eleanor Wilde" cozy mysteries), thriller writer Tess Harrow thinks a log cabin in the woods is the perfect spot to write her latest book. There's no Wi-Fi, no phone service, no electricity, and no running water. It might not be the perfect spot to bring her 14-year-old daughter, Gertie, who is still grieving her parents' divorce after Tess's husband, Quentin, left them. Even Tess might reconsider after an explosion and dead fish and body parts rain from the sky. When the sheriff shows up, and he's a doppelganger for Tess's fictional detective, she's ready to sign up to investigate. Who else has years of experience with methods of murder? It's a slapstick comedy of murder as Bigfoot, a tiger trap, and mynah birds in the trees provide a distraction from the case. Who killed the woman who fell from the sky, and later, a second victim? VERDICT Fans of quirky small-town cozies, such as Joan Hess's "Maggody" mysteries, might want to try this. The far-fetched scenarios and characters might also appeal to readers who enjoy the offbeat, including fans of Paige Shelton's "Alaska Wild" books.—Lesa Holstine

Kirkus Reviews

2022-03-30
A mystery writer finds solace and murder in rural Oregon.

Mystery writer Tess Harrow is worried about her daughter, Gertrude. The usually resilient 14-year-old is stung by her father’s utter silence since his divorce from Tess. Fortunately, Tess has just the answer: She’ll take the feisty teen to an isolated cabin in the woods, far from Seattle coffee shops, the internet, or running water. Gertie’s reaction is predictable, but nothing else is. Shortly after their arrival, they hear a sudden boom, and water, fish, and body parts rain down from the sky. When he finally answers their distress call, Sheriff Victor Boyd tells them it’s probably “the Peabody boys.” Sure enough, Adam and Zach have been blast fishing with dynamite again, only this time, somebody stashed a corpse in the lake before their first kaboom. Boyd’s deputy Carl, who’s detailed to keep watch on Tess’ cabin, disappears, but Ivy, his female counterpart, is unfazed. What she wants most of all is for Tess to read the 1,000-page science-fiction adventure she’s written and shop it to her agent. In the meantime, Tess is fascinated with Boyd, a dead ringer for her own franchise hero, Detective Gonzales. If she can only tag along after Boyd while he’s trying to crack the case, she figures that her next novel, Fury in the Forest, will practically write itself. Boyd wants Tess dogging him about as much as he wants eczema, but eventually the two make their peace with the help of hipster librarian Nicki Nickerson, the third Peabody triplet, a man in a Bigfoot costume, and a roving flock of toucans.

Whimsy meets woodsy.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940175358262
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Publication date: 05/24/2022
Series: By the Book Mysteries , #1
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 200,009
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews