Bust Hell Wide Open: The Life of Nathan Bedford Forrest

Bust Hell Wide Open: The Life of Nathan Bedford Forrest

by Samuel W. Mitcham


$26.99 $29.99 Save 10% Current price is $26.99, Original price is $29.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Bust Hell Wide Open: The Life of Nathan Bedford Forrest by Samuel W. Mitcham

At fourteen he became the head of his impoverished family, responsible for feeding eleven on the rough American frontier. By thirty-nine he had established himself as a successful plantation owner worth over $1 million. And at forty years old, Nathan Bedford Forrest enlisted in a Tennessee cavalry regiment—and became a controversial Civil War legend.

The legacy of General Nathan Bedford Forrest is deeply divisive. Best known for being accused of war crimes at the Battle of Fort Pillow and for his role as first Grand Wizard of the Ku Klux Klan—an organization he later denounced—Forrest has often been studied as a military figure, but never before studied as a fascinating individual who wrestled with the complex issues of his violent times. Bust Hell Wide Open is a comprehensive portrait of Nathan Bedford Forrest as a man: his achievements, failings, reflections, and regrets.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781621575931
Publisher: Regnery History
Publication date: 10/04/2016
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 502,704
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Samuel W. Mitcham, Jr. was a professor of history at Henderson State University, Georgia Southern University, and the University of Louisiana at Monroe, and a visiting professor at West Point. He is the author of more than twenty books on World War II, including Hitler's Commanders: Officers of the Wehrmacht, the Luftwaffe, the Kriegsmarine, and the Waffen-SS (2012) and Triumphant Fox: Erwin Rommel and the Rise of the Afrika Korps (2009).

Table of Contents

Introduction ix

Chapter 1 Frontiersman to Millionaire 1

Chapter 2 First Blood 21

Chapter 3 I'll Be Damned If I'll Surrender 33

Chapter 4 Shiloh 45

Chapter 5 The Murfreesboro Raid 53

Chapter 6 The West Tennessee Raid 75

Chapter 7 Failure at Fort Donelson 89

Chapter 8 Thompson's Station and Brentwood 95

Chapter 9 The Pursuit Of The Jackass Brigade 103

Chapter 10 River Of Death 121

Chapter 11 Forrest Creates an Army: The Second West Tennessee Raid 137

Chapter 12 Okolona 149

Chapter 13 The Third West Tennessee Raid 163

Chapter 14 Fort Pillow 173

Chapter 15 "The Most Perfect Battle": Brice's Cross Roads 193

Chapter 16 "There Will Never Be Peace": Tupelo and the Memphis Raid 215

Chapter 17 Riding Against Sherman 235

Chapter 18 The Nashville Campaign 259

Chapter 19 The Last Battle 277

Chapter 10 After The War 291

Notes 319

Bibliography 341

About The Author 351

Index 353

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews