Carrying Independence

Carrying Independence

by Karen A. Chase

Paperback

$18.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13

Overview

"A stunning portrait of Revolutionary America..." - The Colonial Review

For fans of AMCs TURN, Jeff Shaara, or the Outlander series, this has it all. Spies. War. Political intrigue. Romance. It is 1776, Revolutionary War historical fiction at its finest.

A 2020 LIBRARY OF VIRGINIA LITERARY AWARD NOMINEE

NO. 12 OF THE TOP 100 INDIE BOOKS OF 2019

THE HERO... Nathaniel Marten, is a reluctant Patriot. Cries of Revolution have spread across the colonies to his home in Pennsylvania. He is son to a German gunsmith and an English mother. Friend to a soldier and the Shawnee. "Toward which of my friends and family would my rifle be pointing exactly?"

THE QUEST OF A LIFETIME... In a chance encounter with Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson, Nathaniel instead takes on the task of carrying the sole copy of the Declaration of Independence to seven Congressmen whose signatures will truly unite the colonies.

THE RISKS... To ride. To sail. To survive. British generals and double-crossing spies are eager to capture both Nathaniel and the document so they can divide the thirteen colonies already weakened by war.

THE REALITIES... Through encounters with well-known original founding fathers and mothers, Nathaniel must learn that independence-for himself, for those he loves, and for the country-is not granted, it's chosen. By each and every one of us.

* * *

"Vividly evokes what it was like to be in the trenches of the Revolutionary War in a way that few-if any-historians have done." - Marc Leepson, author of LAFAYETTE: IDEALIST GENERAL

"Allows us to temporarily live and breathe 1776 so deeply that we feel we have been the ones carrying independence for us all." - Kathleen Grissom, author of THE KITCHEN HOUSE

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781733752800
Publisher: Karen Chase
Publication date: 06/11/2019
Series: A Founding-Documents Novel , #1
Pages: 442
Sales rank: 346,679
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.98(d)

About the Author

Karen A. Chase is an award-winning author and photographer. Originally from Calgary, Canada, throughout her childhood Karen traveled through the United States in an R.V. with her family. Those journeys instilled a lifelong love of history, travel, and learning. She has lived in the United States since 1990 when she enrolled as a foreign-exchange student, studying advertising art in San Antonio, Texas. After more than ten years working for advertising agencies and design studios a professional graphic designer--a career that took her to Virginia--she launched her own branding and design studio, 224Design, in 2004. It continues today, with a focus on rebranding authors and companies.
A long-standing member of James River Writers and the Virginia Historical Society, she is also a member of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution, the Historical Novelist Society, the Women's Fiction Writers Association, and the American Revolutionary Round Table. She resides with her partner, Ted, in Richmond, Virginia.

Table of Contents

OPENING

PART I: Preamble

PART II: Statement of Beliefs

PART III: Grievances

EPILOGUE: The Signatures

READER INSIGHTS:


  • The Declaration Sections & Text
  • Discussion Points (Reader & Book Club Questions)
  • Author’s Note (Fact vs. Fiction)
  • The Fonts
  • Acknowledgements
  • About the Author
  • Watch For…


Customer Reviews