Churchill's Hellraisers: The Thrilling Secret WW2 Mission to Storm a Forbidden Nazi Fortress

Churchill's Hellraisers: The Thrilling Secret WW2 Mission to Storm a Forbidden Nazi Fortress

by Damien Lewis

Hardcover

$27.00
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

Perfect for fans of Erik Larsen’s The Splendid and Vile and Alex Kershaw’s The Forgotten 500, #1 international bestselling and award-winning war reporter Damien Lewis’ latest book details the thrilling account of one of the most daring raids of WWII—the untold story of the heroic hellraisers who stormed a Nazi fortress and helped turn the tide of the war. Bracingly tense, brilliantly researched, and truly unforgettable, Churchill’s Hellraisers is a must-have for every World War II library.
 
It is the winter of 1944. Allied forces have succeeded in liberating most of Axis-occupied Italy—with one crucial exception: the Nazi headquarters north of the Gothic Line. Heavily guarded and surrounded by rugged terrain, the mountain fortress is nearly impenetrable. But British Prime Minister Winston Churchill is determined to drive a dagger into the “soft underbelly of Europe.” The Allied’s plan: drop two paratroopers into the mountains—and take the fortress by storm . . .
 
The two brave men knew the risks involved, so they recruited an equally fearless team: Italian resistance fighters, escaped POWs, downed US airmen, even a bagpipe-playing Scotsman known as “The Mad Piper.” Some had little military training, but all were willing to fight to the death to defeat the Nazi enemy. Ultimately, the mission that began in broad daylight, in the enemy’s line of fire, would end one of the darkest chapters in history—through the courage and conviction of the unsung heroes who dared the impossible . . .
 
“One of the most dangerous and effective attacks ever undertaken by this Regiment against the enemy.”
—Lt Col Robert Walker‐Brown, MBE DSO, senior SAS commander

 
“Action-packed…Battleground history buffs will be entertained.”
Publishers Weekly

 
“A little-known behind-the-lines spectacular led by two heroic British officers. Successful niche military history for a popular audience.”
Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780806540740
Publisher: Kensington
Publication date: 08/25/2020
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 146,881
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

Damien Lewis is an award-winning historian, war reporter, and bestselling author. He spent over two decades reporting from war, disaster, and conflict zones around the world, winning numerous awards. He has written more than a dozen books about WWII, including The Ministry for Ungentlemanly Warfare, The Dog Who Could Fly, SAS Ghost Patrol, and The Nazi Hunters. His work has been published in over forty languages, and many of his books have been made, or are being developed as feature films, TV series, or as plays for the stage.

Customer Reviews