CinderGirl: My Journey Out of the Ashes to a Life of Hope

CinderGirl: My Journey Out of the Ashes to a Life of Hope


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Growing up, she rarely heard her own name. Today, she's here to help you claim the inherent worth that is yours.

Born into a large working-class family in upstate New York, Christina Meredith endured years of abuse before entering the foster care system as a teenager. With nowhere to turn after she graduated from high school, Christina lived in her car for almost a year, working three jobs to survive.

As she prayed in her car every day, Christina had no idea that in just a few years, she would be crowned Ms. California. She had no idea that her suffering would one day help others find healing. But she did know that she was destined for more, and she would not give up hope no matter the circumstance.

In Cinder Girl, Christina tells her piercing and poignant story of leaving behind homelessness to become Ms. California and the founder of a nonprofit organization that provides advocacy for foster care children. With stunning vulnerability, Christina invites us into her childhood home and the heart of a child longing to be loved. She asks us to journey with her across the country and deep into a growing faith. She invites us to dig deeper into our own personal courage, even in the most grim of conditions.

Cinder Girl is the riveting story of one young woman's determination to overcome hardship in order to help others know they are not alone and that they too can achieve anything they dream.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780310348931
Publisher: Zondervan
Publication date: 03/05/2019
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 646,756
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

CHRISTINA MEREDITH is a foster care activist, mental health advocate, national speaker, and the founder of the nonprofit Christina Meredith Foundation. A former homeless foster youth who was later named Ms. California, Christina today dedicates herself to protecting children from abuse and advocating for foster care reform. Christina concurrently serves in the US military. Visit her at Christina

Table of Contents

Table of Contents
Chapter 1: The Cold, Hard Truth
Chapter 2: The House at the Top of the Hill
Chapter 3: The Trifecta
Chapter 4: Buried Treasure
Chapter 5: Mirror, Mirror
Chapter 6: Laundry Lady
Chapter 7: Fairy Godparents
Chapter 8: Going South in a Hurry
Chapter 9: Banished
Chapter 10: Mind the Sitter
Chapter 11: House Arrest
Chapter 12: Traveling Mercies
Chapter 13: Guardian Angel
Chapter 14: Cold Turkey
Chapter 15: You Can’t Go Home Again
Chapter 16: Mobile Home
Chapter 17: Opportunity Knocks
Chapter 18: Crowned to Change the World
Chapter 19: A Personal Justice
Chapter 20: Putting Suffering to Use

Customer Reviews