Command of Silence

Command of Silence

by Paulette Callen


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, September 25?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Command of Silence by Paulette Callen

Two children have been stolen at different times out of the same household, one an infant from a bedroom, the other from a playground.

Into this baffling case enters Shiloh & Company. Well known for investigative effectiveness to a cooperative if uneasy police department, unique among detective "agencies," Shiloh & Company is composed of disparate personalities--Sugartime, Hester, Isadora, Lance, Olive, Hawk--who reside in the single person of Shiloh. Shiloh's assorted identities, born out of extreme childhood trauma, have acquired a collective instinct, a priceless gift in detective work: an unerring tuning fork for the truth.

Shiloh has been nursed back to functioning health and sanity by lesbian therapist Ray Martinez, still intent on integrating all the self-protective personalities. But this case is lethal to Shiloh's very identity: a crime involving children cuts to the heart of what first brought Shiloh to Ray's attention. In pursuing this mystery, the fragile mental health and fragmented existence of Shiloh will be tested to its limit.

Allow yourself time for Command of Silence. Once you pick it up you will be reluctant to leave the compelling world of Shiloh and Company.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781935226086
Publisher: Spinsters Ink Books
Publication date: 11/17/2009
Pages: 288
Product dimensions: 5.30(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Command of Silence 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly recommend this book.
LodgeMate More than 1 year ago
Absolutely mesmerizing. "Command of Silence" takes readers on a journey unlike any they've experienced before. Detective agency Shiloh & Company has been called in by police to help solve the mysterious disappearance of two children from the same household at different times. Shiloh's multiple personalities (which make up her "agency") are a revelation ranging in age from small children to grown women...and men. They are the result of a trauma Shiloh experienced over an extended period of time in her childhood. Each personality -- Hester, Olive, Isadora, Lance, Hawk and Sugartime -- carries on conversations inside Shiloh's head, sometimes concurrently. They also "come out" to speak with the police, suspects and Shiloh's life saving therapist, Ray. There are several mysteries here. What happened to the stolen children? Who are the personalities that make up Shiloh and Company? What was the trauma in Shiloh's childhood that resulted in the birth of these personalities? And...when will the next book featuring Shiloh and Company be published? This feels like a series waiting to happen and I certainly hope that's the case! "Command of Silence" is a knockout!