Compete

Compete

by Vera Nazarian

Paperback

$17.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, March 3
MARKETPLACE
12 New & Used Starting at $8.15

Overview

It's one thing to Qualify...


But do you have what it takes to Compete?

With Earth about to be destroyed by an extinction level asteroid, teenage nerd, geek, and awkward smart girl Gwen Lark, and a few of her friends and loved ones, barely Qualified for rescue onboard one of the thousands of ark-ships headed to the ancient colony planet Atlantis.

Now faced with a year-long journey in space, life in a wondrously alien environment, and many tough life choices, Gwen must decide who or what she will become. Fleet Cadet or Civilian? Friend or lover? Average or extraordinary?

Can she make new friends? Can she trust the old ones, such as Logan Sangre, her sexy high school crush and an Earth special operative?

Time and time again, Gwen's uncanny ability to come up with the best answer in a crisis saves her life and others. And now, her unique Logos voice makes her an extremely valuable commodity to the Atlanteans -- so much so that her enigmatic commanding officer Aeson Kassiopei, who is also the Imperial Prince of Atlantis, has taken an increasingly personal interest in her.

Before the end of the journey, Gwen must convince him that she has what it takes to compete in the deadly Games of the Atlantis Grail.

It's becoming apparent -- the life of her family and all of Earth depends on it.

COMPETE is the second book in The Atlantis Grail series.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781607621393
Publisher: Norilana Books
Publication date: 08/15/2015
Pages: 530
Sales rank: 316,697
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.18(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Compete 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 58 reviews.
abbenormal More than 1 year ago
I loved Qualify and the second in the series was even better! Lots of action, emotion, character and plot development that leaves you dying for the next in the series. I haven't been this engaged in a series for a very long time.
SusanFranzblauHyp More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this series and really wish "The Atlantis Grail" had been available when I was young. The story is dynamic and well-written. In the series' first book, "Qualify," the Earth is about to be destroyed by an asteroid and the people from ancient Atlantis, who left Earth to colonize another planet, return to save as many people as they can. However, they can only take a limited number--teenagers who are the best of the best. Gwen Lark not only Qualified, but she discovered that she can do things with her voice in a way that's very important to the Atlanteans. Her quirky genius and curiosity have made her a unique and valuable problem solver. "Compete" is about Gwen's experiences on the year-long voyage to Atlantis. As is "Qualify," there is danger, action, compelling situations, humor, wonder, and romance. But "Compete" is also
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to read the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to read the next one!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive read both books and can hardly wait for the third! Im looking up at the stars more often now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was grabbed by the Atlantis reference and enthralled by the depth of the characters. I enjoyed the growth of the nerdy bookworm and loved the twist at the end of book 2. I was hoping for it but didn't want to rely on that hope as we arrives at the climactic conclusion. Can't wait for the next 2 books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is difficult to find teen books with a main character who isn't either apathetic about life, always breaking the rules, or making dumb choices. In Compete, Gwen can be a bit of a Mary Sue, but that's only because she is actually good at something and does the right thing. Informal writing style really aids in the whole " I'm a teen with regular teen goals" view of Gwen. As a teen girl who is really quite sick of reading books where young women my age are portrayed as scarred, stupid, or rude and unfriendly 'action figure' women. It is refreshing to have a novel which features a woman who is good at something and isn't afraid to show her intelligence. However, the Mary sue connection could really be severed with a bit more author concentration on Gwen's faults. It is important for young women to see that everyone has problems and that they are not alone in their journey to adulthood. Overall, it is a very good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It touches your soul and brings you to tears unbidden, unstoppable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
nanapie More than 1 year ago
After reading the first free book "Qualify" I couldn't wait to read this one. My only complaint is waiting for the next two books to be available....Great read for all ages!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stayed up way past bedtime
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down. Great read in the vein of The Hunger Games and Divergent.
Tamika Stewart 4 months ago
what an ending!!!!
Anonymous 6 months ago
This series is beyond good. The writing is impeccable and the story so creative, yet realistic, you will find yourself on an emotional roller coaster. The characters are so believable you will have honest reactions to the story and will have to remind yourself that it isn't real because use you get so invested. I just read the first two in the series for the fourth time and I am STILL staying up all night to finish. Even though I know what happens, I can't put it down.
Anonymous 11 months ago
the ups the downs the glorious ending!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
%3A%29
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow! Love it held my attention throughout
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great read which made me lose more sleep! Because I couldn't put it down. Thanx. ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a 2nd book in the series it does not disappoint. It is the journey from Earth to Atlantida. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and can’t wait for the 3rd.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait to read the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book 3x. Absolutely love the entire series. Great storytelling. Wonderful plot. Great characters
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting alien culture.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it!!!