Composition for Computer Musicians

Composition for Computer Musicians

by Michael Hewitt

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Composition for Computer Musicians by Michael Hewitt

CompTIA ® Network+® 2009 In Depth gives you all the skills necessary to pass the CompTIA 2009 Network+ exam and provides everything you need to know to install, configure, and troubleshoot a computer network. This book begins by introducing the fundamental building blocks that form a modern network, such as protocols, topologies, hardware, and network operating systems. It then provides in-depth coverage of the most important concepts in contemporary networking, such as TCP/IP, Ethernet, wireless transmission, and security. Because some technical topics can be difficult to grasp, this book explains concepts logically and in a clear, approachable style. In addition, concepts are reinforced by real-world examples of networking issues from a professional's standpoint. Each chapter opens with an "On the Job" story from a network engineer. These real-world examples help make this book a more practical learning tool. Additionally, the numerous tables and illustrations, along with the glossary, appendixes, and review questions, make the book a valuable reference for any networking professional. After reading this book and completing the end-of-chapter review questions, you will be prepared to select the best network design, hardware, and software for your environment. You will also have the skills to build a network from scratch and maintain, upgrade, and troubleshoot an existing network. Most importantly, you will be well prepared to pass CompTIA's Network+ 2009 certification exam!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781598639261
Publisher: Course Technology PTR
Publication date: 01/03/2009
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 902,393
File size: 6 MB

About the Author

Dr. Michael Hewitt was born in South Wales in the United Kingdom. He earned his bachelor of music degree at London University and a master's degree and doctorate at the University of North Wales, Bangor, where he specialized in musical composition. He is a classically trained musician, composer, lecturer, and author on musical subjects. He also writes classical scores as well as soundtracks for various television productions both at home and abroad. He is currently working as a music technology tutor at Coleg Harlech in North Wales.

Table of Contents

Introduction. 1: Getting the Best Out of Your Setup. 2: Knowing Your Genre. 3: Rhythm and Drum Programming. 4: Writing for Percussion. 5: Dance Music Drum Programming. 6: Common Values. 7: Producing Basslines. 8: Writing Melodic Leads. 9: Melody, Bass, and Harmony. 10: The Creative Use of FX. 11: Writing for Strings. 12: Writing for Pads. 13: Writing for Acoustic Instruments. 14: Arpeggiation. 15: Sampling. 16: Control Data. 17: Approaching Structure. 18: Layering and Sequencing. 19: Mixing and Mastering. Conclusion.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Composition for Computer Musicians 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago