Confessions of a Middle-Aged Runaway: An RV Travel Adventure

Confessions of a Middle-Aged Runaway: An RV Travel Adventure

by Heidi Eliason

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

For fans of Wild and Eat, Pray, Love, an entertaining story of a five-year, motorhome road trip taken by a woman and her dog.

Have you ever felt suffocated by your routine and responsibilities, or just longed for some adventure? Heidi Eliason did, so at the age of 45 she quit her job, sold her house, bought a motorhome, and embarked on a five-year road trip with her dog, Rylie. It was a journey that transformed her life.

Through the challenges of managing the Green Monster—her motorhome—traveling in Mexico, and getting derailed by Mr. Wrong, she learned—sometimes the hard way—that chasing the corporate ladder and storybook romance was not always a sure route to happiness. She struggled with insecurities, faced her fears, and dug her way out of depression.

By taking a leap into the unknown, Heidi found a new community of friends, met wildlife, traveled the Baja Peninsula, discovered the magic of the sea, and experienced freedom like she had never known.

At a time when the American Dream is uncertain for so many, more people are turning to alternative lifestyles such as the van life movement and fulltime RV travel. Confessions of a Middle-Aged Runaway may help others to find the courage to jump off the hamster wheel of the conventional Dream and make a transformative journey of their own.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940156023455
Publisher: Heidi Eliason
Publication date: 05/04/2019
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 425 KB

About the Author

Heidi Eliason is a freelance writer and consultant. Her past work includes writing for an RV adventure company, producing more than fifty RV travel articles for an online news source, and developing training courses and manuals. Confessions of a Middle-Aged Runaway: An RV Travel Adventure is her first book. She currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Table of Contents

Author’s Note

Acknowledgments

Chapter 1: The Green Monster

Chapter 2: Hitting the Road

Chapter 3: Fitting In

Chapter 4: Taking Flight

Chapter 5: Traveling Companions

Chapter 6: Death on the Trail

Chapter 7: Holidays

Chapter 8: Baja

Chapter 9: Night Terror

Chapter 10: The Husband Conundrum

Chapter 11: Life on the Beach

Chapter 12: The Gift

Chapter 13: Another Dead Body

Chapter 14: Meeting Whales

Chapter 15: Blue Eyes

Chapter 16: Mr. Right Now

Chapter 17: Romance

Chapter 18: Falling from Cloud Nine

Chapter 19: The Email

Chapter 20: Hoodoos and Arches

Chapter 21: The Grandest Canyon

Chapter 22: Plan Adjustment

Chapter 23: Not Done Yet

Chapter 24: Boundary Waters

Chapter 25: Bears

Chapter 26: Lone Wolf

Chapter 27: Two Ranches

Chapter 28: Out of the Shadows

Chapter 29: Unexpected Visitor

Chapter 30: A Taste of Canada

Chapter 31: The Brewing Storm

Chapter 32: Flying High

Chapter 33: Snakes and Surprises

Chapter 34: Reality Check

Chapter 35: The Flood

Chapter 36: Wildlife

Chapter 37: Trouble Keeps Knocking

Chapter 38: Alligator Country

Chapter 39: Back to the Wild West

Chapter 40: Growing Disenchantment

Chapter 41: The Gathering Clouds

Chapter 42: Full Circle

Epilogue: Birthday Gifts

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews