Cracks Beneath the Surface

Cracks Beneath the Surface

by Mary Ann Miller
Cracks Beneath the Surface

Cracks Beneath the Surface

by Mary Ann Miller


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Available for Pre-Order. This item will be released on October 15, 2024

    Store Pickup available after publication date.

Related collections and offers


The ice is melting—but what will it reveal?

Spring has sprung, and Easter festivities are underway in Field’s Crossing, Indiana. The annual egg hunt is a huge success, thanks in no small part to Lisa DuVal, the owner of Big Al’s Diner who dyed all of the eggs. But when Sheriff Jhonni Laurent discovers Lisa’s body in her catering van later that day, the happy holiday quickly sours, and Laurent begins a murder investigation.

All are shocked at the reading of the will when it’s revealed that the diner will be inherited by Lisa’s best friend—not by her daughter, which raises Laurent’s suspicions. While working to find the killer, Laurent uncovers some unsightly secrets that Lisa’s family had been concealing. Could they be involved in something shady?

As the investigation begins to take shape, it seems that the melting ice will reveal more than the first buds of spring. And when another body is discovered, Laurent must work quickly to determine how the two crimes connect—and who could be behind it all.

Perfect for fans of J. A. Jance and C. J. Box

While the novels in the Jhonni Laurent Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Bones Under the Ice
Cracks Beneath the Surface 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608095391
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication date: 10/15/2024
Series: A Jhonni Laurent Mystery , #2
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 842,905
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

Mary Ann Miller has been a bookworm from the moment she learned how to read. An Illinois native, she moved south to Winter Garden, Florida, with her husband, Mike, to escape the snow and start a new chapter as a mystery writer. Cracks Beneath the Surface is the second book in the Jhonni Laurent Mystery Series, following Bones Under the Ice
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews