Dark Rhapsody

Dark Rhapsody

by Helaine Mario


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21


Perfect for fans of Sandra Brown and Iris Johannsen.

In 1945, an Austrian girl discovers a priceless Nazi treasure near a remote alpine lake and sets in motion a decades-old secret that will change lives for generations to come.

Many years later, classical pianist Maggie O’Shea is preparing her return to the world of music. Instead, a nightmare of a haunting rhapsody and hundreds of roses from a deranged stalker propel her into a world of terror. Forces drive her to revisit the mystery of her mother’s death, her father’s startling disappearance, and a terrible secret from World War II. Maggie finds herself on a collision course with a brutal, disfigured killer who threatens those she holds dear—an aging pianist with a long-buried secret, a haunted cellist, a charismatic Maestro, and the crusty retired colonel she has come to love.

Chord by chord, Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody becomes the heart of this story of profound loss, courage and love. Music tells our stories ...

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608093519
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Publication date: 07/16/2019
Series: A Maggie O'Shea Mystery Series , #2
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 1,188,717
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Best-selling author Helaine Mario grew up in New York City and is a graduate of Boston University. A passionate advocate for women's and children's issues, she has served on many nonprofit boards while residing in Washington, DC. Her first Maggie O'Shea mystery, The Lost Concerto , won the Benjamin Franklin Award Silver Medal. Dark Rhapsody is her third novel. Helaine and her husband, Ron, live in Arlington, Virginia.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dark Rhapsody 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
Dark Rhapsody Helaine Mario Mario’s Dark Rhapsody, sequel to The Lost Concerto has something for everyone; terrifying twists and turns, beautiful settings on both US and foreign soil, well developed intriguing complex characters and a continuing love story between the main protagonists, Maggie and DOJ agent Michael Beckett. The story picks up right after The Lost Concerto ends but this storyline centers around WWII art stolen by the Nazi’s from a prominent Jewish art dealer. With a fabulous plotline, eloquent narrative, musical references all throughout the novel plus a secondary blooming romance, readers are treated to a non-stop action packed page-turner. The sadistic killer from the prequel is back now out for revenge and the good guys who want to see the art returned to its rightful heirs are back from book 1 as well. While readers might benefit from the insights and history from The Lost Concerto, Dark Rhapsody does well all on it’s own. Maggie’s past being revealed, and flashbacks to the dark days of Nazi occupied Europe make this hard to put down perfect for fans of both romantic suspense and thrillers and headed straight for the keeper shelf. SUMMARY: After the harrowing events of the last few months including almost being the victim of a sadistic killer Maggie O’Shea is ready for healing and some well earned normalcy. She’s getting stronger every day, practicing her precious piano and almost ready to start performing as a concert pianist again. There’s a lot to be thankful for and although the pain of losing her husband is still a raw ache she has found a way to cope and even better she’s found love again. Colonel Michael Jefferson Beckett, an agent for the Department of Justice, is battle-scarred but loyal almost to a fault and would protect Maggie at any cost even keeping her in the dark when the madman who recently tried to kill her strikes out against him hoping for a clear a path to her. Little do they know they will both soon be knee deep in mystery, secrets and danger involving not only a killer from Maggie’s past but also art stolen by the Nazis keeping them on their toes and unfortunately in the line of fire.