Death in a Blackout

Death in a Blackout

by Jessica Ellicott
Death in a Blackout

Death in a Blackout

by Jessica Ellicott

Hardcover(Main)

$28.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, March 7
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

The first in a brand-new WWII historical mystery series introduces WPC Billie Harkness - a female police officer who risks her life to protect the home front in the British coastal city of Hull.

1940. Britain is at war. Rector's daughter Wilhelmina Harkness longs to do her duty for her country, but when her strict mother forbids her to enlist, their bitter argument has devastating consequences.

Unable to stay in the village she loves, Wilhelmina - reinventing herself as Billie - spends everything she has on a one-way ticket up north. Hull is a distant, dangerous city, but Billie is determined to leave her painful memories behind and start afresh, whatever the cost.

The last thing Billie expects on her first evening in Hull, however, is to be caught in the city's first air raid - or to stumble across the body of a young woman, suspiciously untouched by debris.

If the air raid didn't kill the glamorous stranger, what did? Billie is determined to get justice, and her persistence earns her an invitation to the newly formed Women's Police Constabulary. But as the case unfolds, putting her at odds with both high-ranking members of the force as well as the victim's powerful family, Billie begins to wonder if she can trust her new friends and colleagues . . . or if someone amongst them is working for the enemy.

DEATH IN A BLACKOUT is a perfect pick for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Rhys Bowen and Susan Elia MacNeal.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781448306527
Publisher: Severn House
Publication date: 05/03/2022
Series: A WPC Billie Harkness mystery , #1
Edition description: Main
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 188,573
Product dimensions: 5.75(w) x 8.82(h) x 0.94(d)

About the Author

Agatha award nominee Jessica Ellicott loves fountain pens, Mini Coopers and throwing parties. A member of Wicked Authors, Sisters in Crime and International Thriller Writers, she lives in northern New England with her dark and mysterious husband, exuberant children and a precocious poodle named Sam.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews