Death of a Liar (Hamish Macbeth Series #30)

Death of a Liar (Hamish Macbeth Series #30)

by M. C. Beaton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


From the author of the Agatha Raisin television series...
DEATH OF A LIAR: A Hamish Macbeth Mystery
Sergeant Hamish Macbeth is alarmed to receive a report from a woman in the small village of Cronish in the Scottish Highlands. She has been brutally attacked and the criminal is on the loose. But upon further investigation, Hamish discovers that she was lying about the crime. So when the same woman calls him back about an intruder, he simply marvels at her compulsion to lie. This time, though, she is telling the truth. Her body is found in her home and Hamish must sort through all of her lies to solve the crime.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781455532674
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 02/03/2015
Series: Hamish Macbeth Series , #30
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 66,770
File size: 996 KB

About the Author

M. C. Beaton has won international acclaim for her New York Times bestselling Hamish Macbeth mysteries. The BBC has aired 24 episodes based on the series. Beaton is also the author of the bestselling Agatha Raisin series, which will air as an eight-episode dramatic series on Sky1, starring Ashley Jensen. She lives in the Cotswolds with her husband. For more information, you can visit

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Death of a Liar 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
SilvaFan More than 1 year ago
I'm delighted to find a Hamish MacBeth and an Agatha Raisin that I haven't read!  They are my favorite English countryside characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent and thoroughly enjoyable, as always.
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
All the characteristics which have made the Hamish Macbeth Mystery series enjoyable and popular are once again present in this latest effort: the constant threat to close his beloved police station, Hamish’s forlorn love life, the Scottish brogue dialogue throughout the novel, the constant competition with his superiors who steal his thunder when he solves cases, and, of course his pets. There are a couple of challenging mysteries facing Hamish in the plot. First of all is a telephone call he receives from a woman claiming she was raped. It turns out when examined that she was a virgin when examined, but when she calls again saying she was being threatened Hamish ignores the plea, giving the book its title. The further plot involves a criminal conspiracy which Hamish believes is linked to the death of the woman, who was tortured before she was murdered. The novel revolves around Hamish attempting to solve the mystery despite efforts by his superior to keep him away from the cases and the limelight, and the usual by-play of Hamish and his subordinate. Two previous policemen assigned to him had left to become food workers, one a chef at a local hotel, the other marrying the owner of an Italian restaurant and waiting tables there. Now his latest may become a baker. The series is great fun, no less excellent mysteries. “Liar” also is very enjoyable, and is recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can not keep "cast" fresh and attempt at love interest awful. by keeping grafic violence and sex at almost cozy standards it has kept its more loyal fans however it would be best to read the earlier ones first the first was a little boring but characters did develope reference to the past in later books just fall flat too many unpleasant people and no humor left dire m.a.@sparta
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DarkAngelCT More than 1 year ago
Hamish MacBeth and his partner Dick are called out to investigate when a woman claims to have been attacked by someone. Upon arriving they find out that she is known as a liar. Not long after that they get called by the same woman again whose claiming now there being an intruder, but not believing her they ignore her call. Hamish spends the next day checking on the woman fear not sitting right with him. What they find is the woman dead. This book dealt with alot of mystery, adventure and quite interesting characters. In this book everyone seems to have a roll to play in solving the murder. I found myself enjoying the characters and how they each played a part. This book definitely had everything as for a while I thought the case was never going to get solved regardless of how many pages were left to go. I was hooked until the end. Definitely a great series for those who enjoy British or Scottish mysteries.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MaraBlaise More than 1 year ago
This reading experience was a bit...odd. I was expecting a cozy British mystery, but what a got was a British mystery book that was apparently trying very hard to be funny, but failed. At least for me it failed. There were so many weird things happening all the time, two spinster sisters accusing the main character, Hamish Macbeth of being a Casanova every time he was seen with a woman, a woman getting bit by a fox, a woman finding a dead body and then she stumbles and hits her head and dies, etc. But it wasn't funny, in any way. The case in itself could have been more interesting, a woman with mythomania gets killed and it all leads to a religious cult. But it lacked depth in both the characters and the story and Macbeth's women problems get a bit too much attention. This is the first Hamish Macbeth book I read, so perhaps you have to read them from the beginning to appreciate the books and its "humor"...