Pub. Date:
Decade of a Love King

Decade of a Love King

by Raheem DeVaughnRaheem DeVaughn


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 28


Considering that Raheem DeVaughn has been behind some of the most substantive sociopolitical R&B since he debuted -- "Until" and "Nobody Wins a War," for starters -- it might be surprising that the D.C. native's first LP since 2015 is exclusively intimate. The singer and songwriter has instead saved the "conscious" facet of his artistry for his lower-profile work with Wes Felton as the CrossRhodes, enabling him to focus here on other matters. On his sixth album, DeVaughn honors and pleases the "you" addressed throughout, lending an ear, vowing eternal commitment, providing various spa services, bringing fruit and oils, and engaging in high indoor adventure, including multiple references to making his lady hang off fancy light fixtures (with her permission). While DeVaughn's arrogance has hit a new peak, the phrase that most typifies the album -- amid panting, gasps, and amusing wordplay -- is the second half of "Locked away 'til the light of day, lovin' all your worries away." Self-celebratory album title notwithstanding, DeVaughn and his collaborators have designed a kind of escapist fantasy filled mostly with sensual electronic slow jams and in "What It Feels Like" and "Wifey," a couple harder hitting, radiant, top-down odes to devotion. While nothing is either as magnetic or as memorable as his best-known singles, high-quality hooks continue to flow from DeVaughn, who still sounds inspired and at ease, happy to continue making albums that are unmistakably and entirely R&B. He also keeps it local with his collaborators, whether it's Muhsinah on production, YahZarah on guest vocals, or Yvette Crocker with the cover art.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/19/2018
Label: Bmg Rights Managemen
UPC: 4050538436075
catalogNumber: 36075
Rank: 75803


  1. What It Feels Like
  2. Don't Come Easy
  3. Wifey
  4. Say the Word
  5. That Way Act I
  6. Another Round
  7. Love Sex Passion
  8. Roses
  9. #BFF
  10. Come Together
  11. Reverse
  12. Temperature's Rising Act II
  13. When Its Real

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Raheem DeVaughn   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Ernie Isley   Composer
Chris Jasper   Composer
Marvin Isley   Composer
O'Kelly Isley   Composer
Ronald Isley   Composer
Rudolph Isley   Composer
Raheem DeVaughn   Composer,Executive Producer
Demont "Peekaso" Pinder   Artwork
Jamil "Face" Johnson   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Wendell Hanes   Composer,Producer
Phil Ade'   Composer
Martrel Reeves   Composer
Chaz French   Composer
Dustin Bowie   Composer
Js Aka The Best   Producer
Kid Class   Producer
Yvette Crocker   Cover Painting
Collegues   Producer
Russell Jerome Smith   Composer
M. Abdul-Karim   Composer
Moses Haughton   Composer,Producer
Justyn Holliday   Graphic Direction
Jarred Sibert   Composer
Spinser Tracy   Producer

Customer Reviews