Deception by Gaslight: A Gilded Gotham Mystery

Deception by Gaslight: A Gilded Gotham Mystery

by Kate Belli
Deception by Gaslight: A Gilded Gotham Mystery

Deception by Gaslight: A Gilded Gotham Mystery

by Kate Belli

Paperback

$18.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Glittering Gilded-Age New York sets the stage for intrepid reporter Genevieve Stewart in this "riveting, carefully researched, [and] well-plotted mystery" (Library Journal, starred review), perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Laura Joh Rowland.

As a chill sets in on New York City in the winter of 1888, a jewel thief dubbed the "Robin Hood of the Lower East Side" has been stealing from the city's wealthiest and giving to the poor. Genevieve Stewart—a young woman whose family is part of Mrs. Astor's famed 400 but who has forged a life of her own as a reporter—decides to chase the story, but gets more than she bargained for: a murder victim sprawled in a dark alley in the dangerous Five Points neighborhood.

A handsome neighborhood tough comes to her rescue—but when she encounters the same man at a glamorous ball a few nights later, she realizes he's society scion Daniel McCaffrey. Could this be her Robin Hood? When two more murders rock the Knickerbocker world, it becomes apparent that something much more sinister is afoot than a few stolen diamond necklaces. Genevieve is determined to prove that Daniel is Robin Hood—but she's loath to believe he is a killer as well. From the glittering lights of Fifth Avenue to the sordid back alleys of Five Points, the truth is just one murder away.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781639103386
Publisher: CROOKED LANE BOOKS
Publication date: 03/07/2023
Series: A Gilded Gotham Mystery , #1
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 347,277
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Kate Belli lives in the mid-Atlantic region with her husband and son. When not writing, she works as a professor or a yogi, depending on the day.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews