Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)

Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me)

by Gary Janetti

Hardcover

$25.19 $27.99 Save 10% Current price is $25.19, Original price is $27.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 18

Overview

The Instant New York Times Bestseller

"From “Family Guy” to his own Instagram account, Janetti has been behind some of his generation’s greatest comedy. This book of essays is no exception."

— The New York Times

Fans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey… meet your new friend Gary Janetti.

Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills to the page in a hilarious, and poignant book chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life.

Gary spends his twenties in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, “These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me.”

Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind If I Cancel? is something not to be missed.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250225825
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication date: 10/22/2019
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 7,236
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Gary Janetti is a writer and producer of such such shows as Family Guy, Will & Grace, and Vicious. He lives in Los Angeles.

Table of Contents

Lend-A-Hand i

Patti LuPone 11

Paramount 31

The William Esper Studio 31

QE2 41

I'd Like to Thank 51

Better Bodies 57

Bennigan's 63

One Life to Live 71

I Don't Feel Well 85

Tim 93

Waldbaum's 103

Letter to My Younger Self 111

Saks Fifth Avenue 117

American Youth Hostels 123

Steven Carrington 133

Paramount Part II 139

Café Sha Sha 149

I'd Really Like to Thank 161

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Do You Mind If I Cancel?: (Things That Still Annoy Me) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous 1 days ago
This book made me laugh out loud several times while I was reading it. I highly recommend it!
wordsandbooksandthings 4 months ago
Television writer/producer Gary Janetti grew up in a time of the golden age of nighttime soaps, little parental supervision, Bennigan’s, and gay teenagers being in the closet. And in his new collection of essays, Do You Mind If I Cancel?, he revisits many of those iconic moments from his past and shares all this thoughts and feelings with us now. Being a horrible server at ‘80s clutter-as-decor restaurant Bennigans? Done. Trying to get on the set of One Life to Live? He did that. Faking sick to stay home from school? Biking around Europe for several weeks in charge of random teenagers? Working as a bellhop in Ian Schrager’s (former Studio 54 owner) new venture the Paramount Hotel? Spending the summer in England learning acting at Oxford? Janetti has done it all, and he tells about it all with all the good humor and pathos of a smart gay man looking back over his adolescence. I jumped at the chance to read these essays when I heard the magic word “funny.” I will read anything someone says is funny. And while there are definitely moments of humor, these essays play more on irony, sarcasm, plaintiveness, and piquancy. There is sadness under the humor, loneliness under the eye rolling. But there is also a lot of solid entertainment in these essays, and there is much warmth and self-realization as Janetti looks back and offers himself the acceptance he didn’t feel when he was younger. Is this a book I recommend across the board? Not really. But if you grew up in the 1970s and 1980s, you’ll find pieces of yourself in some of these essays. If you were a gay man at the gym in the ‘90s, you’ll see yourself here. If you wanted to be an actor or a writer, if you found yourself captivated by television when you were growing up, if you want to remember your own self-image issues, your immature mistakes, your undying love for Patti LuPone, then Do You Mind If I Cancel? is calling your name. Galleys for Do You Mind If I Cancel? were provided by Flatiron Books through Edelweiss, with many thanks.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Laughed and cried all the way thru it