Don't Know Tough

Don't Know Tough

by Eli Cranor

Hardcover

$24.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on March 8, 2022

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Eli Cranor knows writing. Eli Cranor knows football. Eli Cranor knows the south. This one-two-three knockout punch results in a tough and tender story. The novel is visceral, cerebral and emotional. A triple threat of literature like no other.

Friday Night Lights gone dark with Southern Gothic; Eli Cranor, who has played football at every level, delivers a powerful noir that will appeal to fans of Wiley Cash and Megan Abbott.

In Denton, Arkansas, the fate of the high school football team rests on the shoulders of Billy Lowe, a volatile but talented running back. Billy comes from an extremely troubled home: a trailer park where he is terrorized by his unstable mother’s abusive boyfriend. Billy takes out his anger on the fi eld, but when hissavagery crosses a line, he faces suspension.

Without Billy Lowe, the Denton Pirates can kiss their playoff bid goodbye. But the head coach, Trent Powers, who just moved from California with his wife and two children for this job, has more than just his paycheck riding on Billy’s bad behavior. As a born-again Christian, Trent feels a divine calling to save Billy—save him from his circumstances, andsave his soul.

Then Billy’s abuser is found murdered in the Lowe family trailer, and all evidence points toward Billy. Now nothing can stop an explosive chain of violence that could tear the whole town apart on the eve of the playoffs.

WINNER OF THE PETER LOVESEY FIRST CRIME NOVEL CONTEST


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781641293457
Publisher: Soho Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 03/08/2022
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

Eli Cranor played quarterback at every level: peewee to professional, and then coached high school football for five years. These days, he's traded in the pigskin for a laptop, writing from Arkansas where he lives with his wife and kids. His fiction has won The Greensboro Review's Robert Watson Literary Prize and been a runner-up for The Missouri Review's Miller Prize. Eli also writes a nationally syndicated sports column, "Athletic Support," and his craft column, "Shop Talk," appears monthly at CrimeReads. His debut novel, Don't Know Tough, won the Peter Lovesey First Crime Novel Contest. Eli is currently at work on his next novel.

Customer Reviews