Dreamfall (Dreamfall Series #1)

Dreamfall (Dreamfall Series #1)

by Amy Plum

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 17?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Dreamfall (Dreamfall Series #1) by Amy Plum

"Remarkable, riveting, disorienting and dark." —Madeleine Roux, New York Times bestselling author of the Asylum series

A Nightmare on Elm Street meets Inception in this gripping psychological thriller from international bestselling author Amy Plum. Seven teenagers who suffer from debilitating insomnia agree to take part in an experimental new procedure to cure it because they think it can’t get any worse. But they couldn’t be more wrong.

When the lab equipment malfunctions, the patients are plunged into a terrifying dreamworld where their worst nightmares have come to life—and they have no memory of how they got there. Hunted by monsters from their darkest imaginations and tormented by secrets they’d rather keep buried, these seven strangers will be forced to band together to face their biggest fears. And if they can’t find a way to defeat their dreams, they will never wake up.

Dreamfall is perfect for fans of dark and edgy young adult novels from authors like Danielle Vega, Natasha Preston, Kendare Blake, and Madeleine Roux. It is the first book in a spine-tingling duology full of action, suspense, and horror that's sure to keep readers on the edge of their seat until the very last page.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062429872
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/02/2017
Series: Dreamfall Series , #1
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 311,698
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Amy Plum is the international bestselling author of the Die for Me series and the After the End series. She spent her childhood in Birmingham, Alabama, her twenties in Chicago and Paris, and several more years in London, New York, and the Loire Valley. Now she lives in Paris and swears she'll never move again. You can visit Amy online at www.amyplumbooks.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Dreamfall 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
TheThoughtSpot 3 months ago
Dream Fall by Amy Plum involves a group of teenagers suffering from insomnia. They meet for the introduction of a medical treatment that’s supposed to help them all get full nights of sleep. This is a medical trial for these seven teenagers who are in the second batch of testing, the betas. One person, the alpha, has been successful with the treatment already. After the seven reach the dream state, there’s a power bump which causes them to enter a comatose state, according to the research doctors. But the teenagers are actually stuck in a horrifying dream world together. One by one, the dreaming teenagers realize that they are together in a combined dream state. None of them can remember the medical trial or any other short term happenings. While the teens sleep on, the doctors over the trial frantically try to fix their comatose state. As the group moves through each other’s nightmares, they began to recall where they are. The danger keeps increasing and death becomes all too real. The ending is a cliffhanger and the scariest part of the story. 4 stars for this young adult horror story!
DarqueDreamer 9 months ago
I wish I could say that I loved Dreamfall and felt the creep factor of the story. I expected horror along the lines of Nightmare on Elm Street, but I was pretty disappointed. I never experienced the chills I sought after. I never felt like I got in to the story, and I never felt like I connected to any of the characters. The idea behind the story was promising. I just think that it could have been delivered better. I enjoyed the unique aspect of the plot, and the experiment to treat the insomnia of the patients, thus throwing them in to a continuous nightmare of which they could not escape unless they died. But, that seemed to be the extent of my enjoyment. I kept reading, hoping I would experience the horror that the characters felt. I never felt it. I didn’t even have creepy dreams after reading. Horror has, and always will be, subjective though, so even though I didn’t feel it, I know others have. I just had really high expectations when I began reading, and they weren’t met. The characters seemed to fall flat for me, too. I never felt the connection to any of them. The only emotion I felt was toward one particularly character who seemed to enjoy berating the others, and even bullied one of the characters for being a little different. The story just seemed muddled, and the ending really left me annoyed, partly because I had no idea there was supposed to be a second book, but also because it seemed rushed and felt like it was cut sooner than what it should have been, even for a cliffhanger. I never felt like I got enough of the characters’ personalities, and enough of the actual nightmares. I applaud the author for the unique story premise, but this one just wasn’t for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is incredible, so far. I'm not even halfway finished, yet, but I felt the desire to come and write a review, since there aren't any. I'm not giving it 5 stars, just in case the ending falls flat, but I doubt that will happen; Amy Plum is a fantastic writer and storyteller, and the characters she creates stay with you. I definitely recommend buying it! (:
AReadingRedSox More than 1 year ago
My friends have converted me to a horror fan, so I was super excited to jump into this one. But I really didn't get any horror with this one. I liked Amy Plum's writing and the story itself was interesting, but it became repetitive pretty quickly. Will I read the second one? You know I will after that ending. Check out more great book reviews on my blog, A Reading Red Sox, here: http://areadingredsox.blogspot.com/
joelcleve More than 1 year ago
Dreamfall is a book filled with page-turning scenarios that will have you up in the wee hours with your nightlight on! This book does fit into the horror category, but it isn't too "horrifying" and is a great first choice to help ease readers into this type of storytelling. I enjoyed this book and this new adventure that Amy Plum has taken me on. I can't wait for next year's book!
tpolen More than 1 year ago
I first heard about this book on another blog - can't remember which one, but when I saw it on Edelweiss, I got my request in ASAP and was thrilled when I received approval to read it. I've never read anything quite like Dreamfall - which is probably why the book description piqued my interest. Almost immediately, the reader is plunged into a crisis when there's a malfunction with the lab equipment, and the pace never quite lets up from there. The teens have some down time between dreams when they try to figure out what's happening to them, but they're soon thrust into another life-threatening dreamscape. And the dreams - these aren't the typical high school dreams of forgetting to study for a test, can't get the locker open, or showing up to school naked. Trust me, they aren't for the faint of heart. As someone who's a tad claustrophobic, I had difficulty breathing in one scene while my heart was pounding. The chapters alternate between two of the teens trapped in the shared dreamworld and a medical student observing the experiment, which gave a full picture of what was happening in the dreams versus the effect they had on the teens' physical bodies lying in the lab. The chapter titles give the name of the character POV, but in the beginning, I had trouble distinguishing which teen perspective I was reading because their voices are so similar. I had to flip back several times to see who was talking, but from the middle to the end, it wasn't as quite as difficult - possibly because I knew the characters better by then. There are also a couple of unexpected twists near the end that are game-changing. Dreamfall is a dark, tension-filled YA horror novel that would appeal to fans of Kendare Blake and Rin Chupeco. If you like your horror more suspenseful than gory, this is for you. I'll definitely be reading the sequel! Thanks to Edelweiss for the review copy!
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I have always been a fan of Amy's words, so I was pretty excited to get my hands on this one. Added bonus for it being creepy. There are a good amount of characters, but we only get the POV from 3: two patients in the experiment and one pre-med student observing. And between the three of them, we get quite a story. There's not much I can say without spoilers, so just know that it's imaginative and eerie and maybe scary for some and absolutely delicious. I wish I had book 2 in my hands right now. **Huge thanks to HarperTeen and Edelweiss for providing the arc free of charge**